Roasted Garlic and Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was an excellent soup, I will add lump crab meat next time. That will take it to the next level and will not add a lot of fat or calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is a lovely soup. The roasted garlic bit was so subtle but was a really nice taste. I wrote about it on my blog with some pictures http://wobbleajelly.wordpress.com/2014/01/18/daily-detox-soup-roasted-garlic-and-aubergine-eggplant-soup/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I followed this recipe as written with no variations and the end result was just BLAH. At that point, I added rosemary and thyme as some suggested and let it simmer a bit longer --- still blah with a slight hint of flavor. I'm not a huge fan of eggplant so I thought it may have just been me so I brought my son-in-law and grandson in as tasters --- they adore all things eggplant --- and it was thumbs down from both. Two hours later, it had a miniscule improvement of flavor. A day later, a little better but still nothing I would make again. I think I'll try adding some cubes/slices of leek and fennel and see if I can rescue it. Maybe even some kind of flavorful sausage (kielbasa??).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I LOVED this recipe! I skipped on the onions because they're my nemesis, but it still came out great!!! I topped it with croutons and fresh shredded parmesan and it really added to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
What a surprisingly good soup! The only changes I made were replacing the half and half with unsweetened almond milk, and adding 1 cup of roasted red/yellow peppers to the mix. Can't believe how good this was. I saved time by using a handheld blender. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
It can feel a little silly to review a recipe that you ended up changing... but wanted to share b/c it was a great success. I had 2 small zucchini that needed to go, so I poked holes in them and roasted them alongside the garlic and eggplant. Peeled and cut them up when I did the eggplant. Other reviewers mentioned rosemary and thyme, so I figured why not and put a scant 1/4 tsp of each along with the cayenne pepper. My husband and I like a little spice, so the amount of cayenne I used was 1/8 tsp + 1 dash. I didn't measure the amount of onion - just diced up about 1/2 of a small-medium sized one and called it good. The soup turned out great. The zucchini was an excellent addition I wouldn't think to leave out when I make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I'm a huge eggplant fan, so when I saw this recipe I knew I had to try it out. Although it was good, it was definitely missing something (as other reviewers mentioned as well). I also think if I make this soup again I will reduce the amount of cream, it was just a little too much for me. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bazzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Simple ingredients, not the quickest dish to make, but I've never made soup before and it wasn't hard. It is unique and flavorful, and my family loved it! Not many people I know can say they've had eggplant soup, so it was definitely worth trying! I didn't have cayenne pepper, but used a little paprika and it still tasted great. I had to make my own tomato puree, but that hardly took any time at all, and I didn't have half-and-half, so I used the milk/cornstarch trick I saw in one of the other comments. Overall a great dish! I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Added more cayenne for more kick, since other reviewers said the amount called for was almost unnoticeable. We enjoyed it with a nice whole grain and seed crusty bread. Since we don't normally have half and half on hand, I just used roughly half heavy cream and half milk. Also, I used an immersion (stick) blender right in the pot, which worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I didn't make it exactly like the recipe. Instead of half and half I used 1/4 cup buttermilk and 1 cup of heavy whipping cream. I used hunts tomato sauce for the tomato puree. I also added some red pepper flakes as well as ancho chili powder to add a bit of kick. I cooked some spinach in there as well as was recommended by another down below because I too had some spinach in the fridge that needed used. This was a fantastic base for a recipe and you can really play with the ingredients to make it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States