Roasted Garlic Zucchini and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Mmmm! I love zucchini and tomatoes but roasted in the oven like this is my absolute favorite way to eat them. I've already left out the onions and just use onion powder which works well for me, but I'm not a big fan of onion to begin with. The moisture from the veggies and the olive oil combine with the seasonings to make the most amazing thick juice on the bottom of the pan, which is why I am now a oevn-roasted veggie convert: I love to dip my bread in it. Some have commented they'd prefer using a smaller pan, but I feel the 13x9 allows this amount of veggies optimum room to roast separately in the oven and not just be a baked veggie casserole. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, while I may change the seasonings or even the veggies themselves I feel the proportions and cook time/temp are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Yummy. I halved the recipe and did a few substitutions. I used one zucchini, about 10 grape tomatoes halved, omitted the onions and 3 teaspoons of chopped garlic from the jar. We love garlic. I added the parmesan cheese before baking and mixed that in as well. And for an extra kick I added about a half tablespoon of balsamic vinegar. I think that really made it. I didn't have fresh basil so I used a couple of the frozen basil cubes from Trader Joe's and threw them in before I put this in the oven and mixed it all together. I baked at 450 for 10 minutes and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Pretty awesome, I made it for my roommates and they really appreciated it since I normally cook alot more meat heavy dishes. It was also one of the first times I've cooked an all veggie dinner, and it came out splendideliciously. The red pepper makes it slightly spicy, and it works as a great side. If I were making it again I'd probably double everything since it only filled out half of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I liked the idea of this, but after reading the recipe through, I knew right away the oven temperature and cooking time were excessive. I cut my zucchini in larger chunks than the recipe called for and baked it at 400 degrees for 10 minutes; then broiled for a minute or two to get some nice color. The zucchini was perfectly cooked, although my tomatoes and onions were still over-cooked. Part of the problem was that I had to use grape tomatoes (no fault of the recipe) since we cannot get a decent tomato in Ohio this time of year. The remedies that come to mind are to add tomatoes and onions later in the cooking process, maybe last five minutes. Or use full size tomatoes and quarter them as indicted in the recipe and cut onion into larger pieces. All in all this is a good recipe that just needs a little more tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Delicious! There wasn't much left over, but I put what was left in the food processor the next day, and added it to some spaghetti sauce. The left over veggies chopped in the food processor would also make an amazing spread for crackers or pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I traditionally make zucchini this way but on the stovetop rather than the oven and it was nice not to have to watch and stir it. Unfortunately, I wasn't crazy about using the tomatoes with this method, since they seemed to cook too quickly and become kind of mushy. As for the zucchini, it cooked through before it became the golden brown the submitter spoke of. The fresh basil was a nice choice to finish this off but it still couldn't elevate this above average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This was an excellent side dish for a cookout. I made a double batch and used them to make an italian vegatable soup the next day and it was excellent. This is so versatile I may try it over pasta next time with some shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE BULANDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
DELICIOUS! I follow the Zone diet, and this is a perfect way to get low-glycemic carbs and healthy fat (EVOO) into the meal. I served over steamed cauliflower (gives it more substance for a meal) -- it was so good, I'm adding cauliflower to the recipe next time. Tastes great when reheated; tried reheating with some crumbled feta cheese and that was delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Excellent! Coming here to post a pic, I realized I left out the parm & basil. It's still delish without it! I love Roasted Veggies & the Red Pepper Flakes gives it a subtle kick that I love! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Made as directed and it was WONDERFUL! Have made it again since and added fresh mushrooms and corn. I also cut back on the oil, use less pine nuts so I could count it as less points on Weight Watchers. What a wonderful way to have a fresh healthy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States