Roasted Garlic Tzatziki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Roast Garlic: Take an an entire bulb of garlic and cut off the ends (sides). Pour olive oil on it and wrap in aluminum foild. Bake! 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is awesome. Made it with fresh Dill instead of the Mint. Next time I will try the more traditional approach and use Goat Yogurt. Update (18 Mar 11): Living in Toronto, we have a massive Greek population and the well known Danforth (Greek Town). Many of my friends are Greek and it was well recommended to use Goat Milk Yogurt (Greek Yogurt). So this time around I made it properly. Strained the Goat Yogurt for 24 hours. The thicker it is the better the outcome. Try it, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was a most excellent tzatziki! I didn't see any reason to strain the greek yogurt as what I used (Greek Gods brand) was very thick already. However, I did make sure to get as much water as possible out of the cucumber. Also used dill (instead of mint) and 2 regular sized whole garlic bulbs. Texture and weight were perfect! Loved that there wasn't mayo or sour cream in this recipe. It's a keeper....am making more today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
We eat this at least once a week. I use three roasted garlic cloves, and 1-2 raw ones. I also use red wine vinegar instead of lemon juice. A dash of Cavenders Greek Seasoning finishes off my version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I've made this a few times as is and it's a very good recipe. I experimented with using minced borage and lemon balm from the garden in place of the cucumber and lemon juice and it turned out perfectly thick without losing any of the flavor (plus it saved some time). Fun to try if you have the ingredients around. Makes a wonderful dip for fresh vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
After leaving in Greece for several years, and being taught how to make the real thing, I was OK with trying the roasted garlic, because it would give it more flavor, but NO way to put mint in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
YUM! This was a last minute decision, so I couldn't allow the yogurt to drain overnight, but other than that, I made this exactly as directed, aside from halving the recipe. I think next time, I'll add even more roasted garlic for a bigger garlic flavor though. I was glad to come across this recipe and I will be making it again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
How much raw garlic is 2 tablespoons? I used a whole bulb of roasted garlic, but it was too mellow for us to taste it enough just after making it and then the next day. I added another couple of raw cloves and the rest of the strained cucumber just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very good overall. I didn't have roasted garlic (and couldn't make because the oven was broken), so I used pureed garlic instead. I didn't find it overpowering, but I would like to try it with roasted garlic next time. I might also use more mint and lemon juice, as well as a little ground pepper. Served it with freshly toasted pita triangles (toasted on the grill), as part of a Greek menu for dinner, and everything went together well. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Nice recipe. I added some grated raw garlic as well as the roasted (I like that bite), and a little more mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States