Roasted Garlic Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Smooth and rich. I was concerned about the garlic taste combined with the sweetness of the sweet potatoes, but they go together well. The cayenne pepper adds warmth as you eat them. This will become a Thanksgiving favorite for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Even though I don't like sweet potatoes, this recipe sounded so interesting I had to try it. It was surprisingly good, and the only sweet potatoes I've ever actually liked! I was a little concerned about the large amount of garlic, and even though they are garlicky it wasn't overkill. I didn't add the cayenne pepper because of my small children, but I bet it would have tasted good. Very creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Very good!My boyfriend loves sweet potatoes but I had never made them. This was my frist time. I didnt have cream cheese so I left that out,didnt seem like it was missing anything.This recipe was a hit! Thanks we will be makin this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Superb! These potatoes were absolutely wonderful, and met my expectations. We enjoyed the combination of the sweetness of the potatoes, and the strong garlic flavor, complimented by the heat and spice of the seasonings. I wasn't sure about trying to peel the potatoes after baking, so I peeled them first, and wrapped each one in foil. This recipe is a definite keeper! Thank you Kelly for introducing me to some unique ideas I never would have thought of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
It may sound like an odd combination, but it's delicious. You can cut down on calories by using reduced fat or fat free cream cheese or sour cream. Use fresh pressed garlic for sure. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Wilderman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I omitted the cream cheese and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This was a good change from your typical cinnamon spiced, sugar laden mashed sweet potatoes. The flavor was very nice, albeit a tad on the rich side. When I make this again, I'll cut back a bit on the sour cream. 3/4 cup was a bit too much for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Made this as the directions instruct and found them to be really heavy. Made second time without sour cream and cream cheese. SO SO SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I had made this for Thanksgiving since I don't care for sugary sweet potatoes. It is very good but as it sits for any length of time the garlic becomes too overpowering even when I cut the amount of garlic in half. And I am a garlic lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I didn't follow instructions well and I'm betting this could have been better but the combination is very nice... adds alot of interest to an otherwise rather uninteresting veggie. Probably a 5 star as written. To summarize, the flavors work well together. I steamed the potatoes, along with the minced garlic, as though doing mashed potatoes. Then added butter, sour cream, salt and tabasco sauce and blended to the consistency of mashed potatoes. Very good. My family would not do the marshmallow or brown sugar versions of sweet potato. This worked well for us. Don't follow my recipe. Just know that, though an odd sounding combination, it really works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States