Roasted Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I had this soup for thanksgiving. I didn't prepare it. This soup is very time consuming. The taste is bitter. Not worth all the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I tried to follow recipe but when I put bulbs of garlic in the oven 1 hour ..and bake at 350F , it burnt ..I have to throw away all garlic I cook ..I waste 1 hour for cooking and garlics..everytime I cook some dishes from allrecipes I always satisfied except this one !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I think this would be a great base for a mushroom soup; it was good, but by the end of the bowl I wanted a little more complexity
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brazierina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Everyone loved this flavourful soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Amazing soup!! Roasted the garlic 30 min in foil paper in oven. We waited to have it the 2nd day and the taste was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Oh My Heck! This is now our new Most Favorite Soup!! I took advice from other reviewers and used 1 leek, did not puree. I can not wait for leftovers!! So Yum-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
We have a restaurant here that makes garlic soup--the owner is from Transylvania! This is the closest to their recipe. It won't suffer if you don't use any leeks, and I have cheated by buying garlic already in cloves and roasting it without oil in a foil packet. Since the ingredients are pureed, no need to squeeze them out either. To reduce the calories, I've also sauteed with cooking spray, adding stock to the pan to keep ingredients from cooking too fast. Left out the flour and just added about 2 cups of mashed potatoes (used Simply Potatoes ready made) to puree to thicken. Last, used can of fat-free evap. milk added to stock instead of cream and dolloped a little into each bowl before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
When I start pulling out ingredients, my family tends to roll their eyes. When they took a taste of this soup, their eyes lit up in amazement. It was really nice for picky eaters, with a healthy dose of garlic. It was loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
loved the soup!!!! but I did make changes...roasted the garlic in a foil packet. took about an hour at 350. used only 1 leek and a half onion. also added some shallot. skipped the part about cooking the flour as it was way too dry to do that. only used 3 cups of stock and added a little extra sherry. used low-fat buttermilk instead of whipping cream. garnished w garlic croutons and parmesan. will definitely make again, and probably soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I used 1-1/2 leeks instead of 4 (actually doubled the recipe and used 3 leeks). The only change that I have made is to substitute the cup of heavy whipping cream with fat-free half and half.. please trust me that it doesn't just save you a huge amount of calories, but it doesn't take away from the taste whatsoever.. I have had it both ways and the fat-free half and half is much less heavier on the palate, but still smooth, creamy and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States