Roasted Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Smooth and creamy and awesome! I couldn't find leeks, so no leeks, and forgot to grab a lemon so I left out the lemon juice also. I used dried chives and a couple croutons to garnish with. 1/4 cup seems like a lot of oil, but I saved what was in the pan and used it to oil my lasagna pan :) Divine soup, thanks for sharing the recipe Marian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I had this soup for thanksgiving. I didn't prepare it. This soup is very time consuming. The taste is bitter. Not worth all the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I tried to follow recipe but when I put bulbs of garlic in the oven 1 hour ..and bake at 350F , it burnt. I spent 1 hour cooking the garlic..everytime I cook some dishes from allrecipes I always satisfied except this one !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I think this would be a great base for a mushroom soup; it was good, but by the end of the bowl I wanted a little more complexity
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brazierina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Everyone loved this flavourful soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Amazing soup!! Roasted the garlic 30 min in foil paper in oven. We waited to have it the 2nd day and the taste was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Oh My Heck! This is now our new Most Favorite Soup!! I took advice from other reviewers and used 1 leek, did not puree. I can not wait for leftovers!! So Yum-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
We have a restaurant here that makes garlic soup--the owner is from Transylvania! This is the closest to their recipe. It won't suffer if you don't use any leeks, and I have cheated by buying garlic already in cloves and roasting it without oil in a foil packet. Since the ingredients are pureed, no need to squeeze them out either. To reduce the calories, I've also sauteed with cooking spray, adding stock to the pan to keep ingredients from cooking too fast. Left out the flour and just added about 2 cups of mashed potatoes (used Simply Potatoes ready made) to puree to thicken. Last, used can of fat-free evap. milk added to stock instead of cream and dolloped a little into each bowl before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
When I start pulling out ingredients, my family tends to roll their eyes. When they took a taste of this soup, their eyes lit up in amazement. It was really nice for picky eaters, with a healthy dose of garlic. It was loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
loved the soup!!!! but I did make changes...roasted the garlic in a foil packet. took about an hour at 350. used only 1 leek and a half onion. also added some shallot. skipped the part about cooking the flour as it was way too dry to do that. only used 3 cups of stock and added a little extra sherry. used low-fat buttermilk instead of whipping cream. garnished w garlic croutons and parmesan. will definitely make again, and probably soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States