Roasted Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Super recipe and great comfort food! I made this because I needed up use up some potatos and wanted to try something I haven't made yet. For those looking for creamy potato and garlic soup check out the Progresso Recipe Starters in your canned soup section! I used the garlic recipe starter which is a thicker creamy sauce which worked beautifully for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Make sure to check the potatoes for doneness before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Fantastic! I didn't have the soup called for in the recipe so I substituted cream of potato and 3 cloves of minced garlic (we love garlic). I will definitely be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cienna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This tasted good, but far too much grease. I made the recipe exactly as written and the potatoes were swimming in a pool of grease. I would cut back the cheese to two cups and use milk the next time. They tasted good but are a heart attack in the making as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliceandtrixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Great comfort food. I couldn't find the soup at my regular grocery store, so wound up using a baked potato soup and adding my own garlic. It was delicious. I have since found the soup, so will try the recipe again. Might also try adding ham and onions for a one-dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
These were good (3.75) but the flavour was lacking. I searched at quite a few local stores for the soup (Campbells brand) and it wasn't to be found. I did the next best thing and bought some cream of potato soup, and roasted a few garlic cloves - I imagine the difference would be negligable. The cream is NOT a must for this recipe, as it only adds calories, and not much flavour. I swapped the cream for some evaporated milk, which would impart the creaminess the cream would've given, but w/ fewer calories/fat grams. The thyme was a lovely addition, but not enough to make this dish "pop" w/ flavour. I'll keep it on file for future reference for tweaking...perhaps instead of using rosemary as a mere garnish, I'll add some into it...or some oregano, and a fontina or provolone cheese as I don't think that the cheddar was a good mesh. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
these were delicious! i followed the directions exactly except added a bit more cheese, which i do to everything, and used my mandolin to slice the potatoes. its very important they're the same thickness or they don't all cook evenly. covered with foil to bake for the first hour then uncovered and put under broiler for a few minutes to get the top gold and crispy. terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateroo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I also couldnt find the correct soup so I used Cream of Potato and added some fresh garlic. I was serving them with buffalo ranch chicken sandwiches so in an effort to tie everything together I added a small amount (a tablespoon or two) of ranch dressing to the mixture and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This was a fantastic recipe! I didn't change anything and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Utley Price
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Very good. I used 5 potatoes and cut the rest of the ingredients in half upon learning that my can of soup was only 10 oz. Still thought it came out great, and even my husband who wanted me to "just make basic mashed potatoes" said this had a very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States