Roasted Garlic Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This was some great soup! Just one note; The recipe says to add the garlic cloves to the pot....should they be roasted with the potatoes? I roasted them and the soup was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Thought this was was really good. I think it would be even better the longer it sat but it didn't have time to sit very long before it was all gone. Even my son the picky eater ate 2 bowls. Personally i didnt put it in a blender til smooth. I used a potato masher, left everything in the pot and mashed it up some in the pot. I used larger chunks of potato so i was able to just mash those up into smaller ones. Topped it off with light cheddar, bacon bits and chives. I didnt hold any of the potatos back in reserve. I didnt even use any oil as it said to do so i could cut the fat count down further. Great recipe and great base for other things. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I've made this twice & I really like it. I added the garlic to the potatoes & roasted them, too. This time I just mashed the potatoes, so it would be a little bit chunky and added some ham and colby/jack cheese. YUM! Don't forget a nice loaf of crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
Loaded with flavor. Easy up on the milk for garlic mashpotatoes, then add milk to any leftovers to complete this as a soup. Nice and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
MY HUSBAND LOVES HIS MOMS POTATO SOUP, WHEN I FOUND THIS ONE I WASNT SURE HE WOULD LIKE IT, WHEN HE CAME HOME FROM WORK I GAVE IT TO HIM FOR DINNER HE LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This is a great soup for such a simple recipe! It's even easier when using the potato masher instead of a blender (less clean-up, too). I always end up using at least 4 cups of chicken broth, but it's really up to your preference for how thick you want your soup. Definitely roast your garlic in the pan with the potatoes (I always throw in a couple more cloves than called for). Also, I like to sprinkle some oregano or thyme on the potatoes & garlic mix before roasting for additional flavor. I've done this recipe with peeled potatoes and with skin-on and it comes out great either way. When we have leftover ham, adding it to this soup really kicks it up a notch. Serve w/ homemade garlic parmesan bread. Yummy!! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
My husband won't shut up about how much he loves this recipe. It is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This is a really good base for a soup, and I was surprised that with so few ingredients it had such a good flavor. I used red potatoes (leaving the skins on for a nice color), roasted the garlic with them, and sprinkled some oregano and salt in with the pepper and olive oil. I used red onions also. At first, the soup was quite a bit thinner than I normally like my cream soups, but I was able to solve this by simply adding in the potatoes I had reserved. For this I just used a hand mixer (not a blender) to keep some of the chunks in tact, and garnished with shredded parmesan and crumbled bacon. Overall, I was pleased. I'm even looking forward to leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annersmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This soup was prety good. Very easy to make. I followed the recipe as instructed, but I omited the milk (we don't drink milk) and the taste was good. I think it will taste better tomorrow for left overs once the falvours have more time to settle. I used white potatoes and left the peel on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I thought this was pretty good and would make it again. I used red potatoes and didn't peel them, because I'm lazy and who likes peeling potatoes anyway?! =) The peels mixed right in after the trip through the blender, and they gave a little color to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States