Roasted Garlic Potato Soup with Smoked Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is good, although because of a garlic allergy I use sauteed onion instead. Salt is not needed because smoked salmon is quite salty. Celery is a good addition to this recipe or even a few peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I rarely follow a recipe to the T but I did with this one (except that I added a stalk of celery) and it was amazing! I mean delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Wow! This was absolutely divine! I am vegetarian, so I used veggie broth instead of chicken, and smoked tofu instead of salmon. In fact, I think it would be equally as delicious without the smoked tofu / salmon. The roasted garlic really gives this its special flavor. By the way, I had to roast the garlic more like 35 or 40 minutes rather than 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parjata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Delicious! This was so good and healthy! I substituted milk for heavy cream. Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This recipe was delicious! The longer the soup simmers the more it will take on the smoked salmon flavor - great for cold and rainy days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Five Stars!!! Very delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I love this soup, and sometimes make it with other smoked fish, like smoked trout or bonito. Or mixed seafood for a nice seafood chowder. Might I suggest for those who are vegetarian or Vegan, use a head of cold-smoked garlic instead of the smoked salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Excellent! All I changed was the onion, I used a whole medium onion rather than the 1/4 cup that was suggested. Aside from that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was AWESOME! thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Ros

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pinenut
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Great soup! Quick and easy. Salmon is really expensive where I live, so I just cut up some smoked ham instead. Also delicious!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinenut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irkutsk, Irkutsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States