Roasted Garlic Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
It was OK, but the flavor was a little too bland. It needs something else, but I can't come up with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I liked the taste of this--flavorful, but mild. I'd suggest using only 1 Tbsp of flour, since the sauce DOES get rather thick, and pepper instead of peppercorns, since I don't like eating them or picking them out. I sprinkled chicken with lemon pepper seasoning, garlic powder, and onion powder, and baked it in the oven ahead of time, then cut up and put in the sauce after it was done. I served over penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This recipe was ok..easy enough to make but wasn't a real hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Mine also turned out a bit thick but it got rave reviews from the whole house. I added more garlic to ours (we love garlic). Served over angel hair pasta with chicken and a side of garlic toast. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DigitalGrrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Good sauce- nice flavour, easy to make. However, while the sauce looked deliciously creamy as I was pouring it on the pasta, as it cooled it did become very gummy, as other people mentioned. By the time I was finishing my meal, the pasta was one big (tasty) coagulated lump. I will make this sauce again, but next time I'll try using less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This sauce seemed a bit thick and glutenous to me. While eating it, I kept thinking it was missing something. It was almost like a bland Alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I thought this was kind of bland - I don't know how, since it had plenty of garlic and peppercorns in it, and I added a decent amount of parmesean cheese too. I might make it again, but it's not going to go into heavy rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Mild sauce, nice flavor. Goes well with many different dishes. I used it over turkey and whole grain couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This turned out great for us. Like another reviewer I also always add my flour to the butter first. I didn't have nutmeg so omitted and used ground pepper. Mixed in shrimp and poured over fettucine noodles. Yummy. Thanks for the post. Served witht the Cheddar Bay Biscuits from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This had a good flavor, but it took a lot longer than 5 minutes to thincken. But it was just the right amount of bite from the pepper and the garlic flavor was amazing. Maybe I need to use a bit more flour, because it turned out a bit runny. I just tossed it with some shrimp and noodles though, and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States