Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I know this is supposed to be an easy recipe but I am a little confused by the garlic part. I wonder if it was meant to have a little burnt taste/smell. Mine turned out a little dark brown half way through the cooking time. We dont like the taste of burnt garlic so i squeezed out as much of the soft stuff. When I roast garlic I usually use the whole bulb of garlic, leaving the first layer of skin on and cut 1/4 at the end, place in remiken, drizzle olive oil then cover with foil. Maybe next time I will use this method for the individual gloves leaving the skins on. When cooled, squeeze out the soft garlic. Now, let's get with the whole result...it was bland and had to add more butter, a little more shakes of salt, and used more heavy cream. With little tweaks, you got a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I used the microwaving method to roast minced garlic. While this was much faster, it did not taste as good as roasted garlic. I also made the mistake of adding ALL the olive oil into the mash and this made the potatoes taste strongly of olive oil. The 3 stars are more for my performance than for the recipe as it stands. I will try again and follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I followed this recipe to the letter (even adding exactly 1/2 t. salt and exactly 1/4 t. pepper, but they turned out very bland. The garlic was barely noticable. Also, they had a sort of greenish color... from the olive oil, I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Sooooooooo good. There's a nice garlic flavor here without over powering the potatoes. The cheese blends in nicely. I used my mom's traditional mashed potato method (mayo, butter, and milk), but added the seasoning suggested here. It really adds great flavor to potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
A good solid recipe. I tend to use twice as much garlic as is called for (but I'm a big fan of garlic). Next time though, I will probably use less olive oil on the garlic when roasting it as it came out a bit too "crispy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I made the recipes exactly as stated but left out the parmesan and added some garlic powder and some butter. My husband, who is a garlic lover, said I could have left out some garlic but I thought it was just the right amount. We had plenty of leftovers but the next day the potatoes tasted extremely bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I normally don't like mashed potatoes but I love this recipe and now love mashed potatoes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tessac726

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
SOOOO yummy. I would add more garlic to the recipe. Perhaps 12 or 15 cloves but I do love garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiCACA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Mmm soo delicious! I added alot more garlic than i was supposed too (Garlic salt) and alot more parmesan cheese. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
These came out nicely. Very tastey!! Just like the restaurant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFMATHEMATIKS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States