Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
EXCELLENT! I broiled the garlic - it doesn't take as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was a side to accompany my Maple Salmon on Valentine's Day for my 3-year honey. It was GREAT! Love the potatoes and will definitely make them way more often!! Make sure you grade your own Parmesan to ensure freshness! Remember, great ingredients make good food... :) Happy Valentines Day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very creamy and not too dry. But if you're going to roast the garlic for long enough to make the flavor mild, I suggest using more. For 3lbs potatoes I used 2 heads of garlic that I roasted for an hour. It was definitely not too much! Also added minced parsley and reduced the butter by half to remove some fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Pretty good. Not as creamy tasting as I usually like mashed potatoes, and missing something. Maybe next time I'll switch plain yogurt for the milk. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Yummy, no gravy necessary. I recommend more garlic than 6 cloves, personal preference. Also, it only takes about 20 minutes to roast large cloves of garlic this way. Put them in a small casserole, drizzle with olive oil, and cover with aluminum foil. Remove from over after 20 minutes and let them sit covered with foil until they have cooled. They will be nice and soft without being overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This is a very tasty potato dish. The idea of cooking the garlic in the oven is an excellent idea since it add tons of flavor to the mashed potatoes. I followed the recipe as indicated with the exception that I didn't add salt or pepper and it turned out very good. The idea of adding Parmesan cheese to the mashed potatoes is a very good one! I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Delicious. I sort of bypassed the roasting of the garlic, though. I purchased a container of minced roasted garlic and used that (1/2 tsp = 1 clove). Fresh would be even better, of course, but if you add the minced while the potatoes are still hot before you mash them, the flavors mesh fine. Adding oregano, garlic powder, and more salt made them perfect for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I'm rating this 5* because I followed the advise of doubling the garlic, adding cream cheese. I made a 5lb bag potatoes and used a head of garlic - for the other beginners...cut off the top (the thinnest point) to expose all the garlic cloves then pour on the olive oil and bake for approx 20 min. If you don't have a garlic roaster - use foil. I found this hint useful. These were the best garlic mashed potatoes we ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waldwick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
These were so good, my husband wants them again this evening! I guess I need to keep lots of garlic on hand at all times! These potatoes were a perfect side dish to the 'Carmel Apple Pork Chops' as the meat was a little sweet and this added a more slight salty, pungent note.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States