Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This is a great recipe...I read a lot of reviews(as I always do) and some people complained of the garlic burning and not tasting the Parm.... Well, just use a whole head, cut the tip side of the head off exposing all of the tops of the garlic cloves. Make sure oven is preheated to 350. Put head into a piece of tin foil and put olive oil on top of the garlic. Just enough to cover the garlic and get on each clove. Put some salt and pepper on the head and wrap the garlic nice and tight with the foil. Throw that in the oven for 35-45 minutes and you are good. I like 35 minutes because it still leaves the garlic a little mashed. I followed the recipes almost exactly except for adding probably at least 3/4 of a cup of Parm....Using the whole head gave me garlic in every bite and it wasn't overpowering with butter or anything else to give it flavor. You could really make this almost healthy if you used skim milk and I Can't Believe It's Not Butter!(Which I did both). The cheese is the only killer and that's not terrible. I like lumpy potatoes so I mashed them with a hand masher leaving the skin on 3 of the 7 potatoes. All in all, I think I will make my mashed potatoes like this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMONEY1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
These get 4 1/2 from us! My daughter absolutely loved these. I would suggest a tad more salt, butter, and perhaps a little more milk. I used almost twice as much garlic than the recipe called for because we love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
These are simply excellent :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Taking into consideration the other reviews, cooking the cloves shorter and with much more cloves, it turned out fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amymarie416

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
For some who are still bewildered in the kitchen, "tender but firm" means don't overcook them (10-15 minutes). If a knife can be inserted and withdrawn easily, the potatoes are done enough. Garlic has a strong taste and some love tons and some just need a bit, so don't complain about a recipe if you're at the far end of the spectrum. When it says bake the garlic until it's golden brown, check on it periodically. If it's done in 10 minutes, take it out then!(eye roll) Now that that's outta me... Great recipe, I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inexcelsis
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I changed this slightly. I used pre-packaged minced garlic, instead of whole cloves. I also used a package of cream cheese, and some sour cream. I used heavy cream instead of milk. Finally, I boiled the potatoes in chicken broth instead of water. I just kept adding garlic, pepper, and salt to taste, so I can't say how much I used exactly. But they were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Great, simple recipe that produces a great tasting mash. After making it a few times, I settled on a version with only two changes: I boil my potatoes in chicken stock, and use some of the liquid instead of milk; and I omit the parmesan cheese. Both of these changes reduce the overall energy count and especially the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albertf67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Yummy! I recommend using this as side dish for the Lover's Beef Burgandy Filet by ttinkerbel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
My family loved these!! Don't think we will be able to eat regular potatoes again. I did add about 4tbsp of sour cream and added a bit more cheese. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I thought these potatoes were great for a change of pace from the standard mash potato. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook0428

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States