Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was my first time making mashed potatoes and so it was a little confusing. I forgot to look at the cook time so I was standing in front of the stove wondering when the potatoes would be done. Anyway, for the garlic, Mine took forever to brown, which is weird compared to everyone else. The mashed potatoes just tasted like potatoes... not like the type i ate in restaurants so i was a little disappointed. I didn't add any cheese because of everyone's advice. It was really easy to "mash" it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Chang
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Nice recipe, tasted very good. I got a little afraid it wasnt enough garlic so I added more lol which turned out to make it very strong. The parmesan all melted and I couldnt taste any of it so I would either wait to the very very last minute to add it, add more, or not add it at all. Good recipe, I just gave it a 4 because it wasnt amazingly out of this world, but that is hard to do with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
These are pretty good! I agree that the cooking time on the garlic is too long - mine were borderline too brown. So, scale about 15 minutes off and they should be perfect. Other than that, pretty easy and has a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This is a good recipe. The one thing I will say is that the cooking time on the garlic is off. The recipe says to bake the garlic cloves for 45 minutes - even if you were baking an entire bulb of garlic it would not take that long. The garlic will be browning after ten or fifteen minutes. I recommend adding the milk and cheese as you see fit - the consistency of mashed potatoes is a matter of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I just couldn't justify turning the oven on to roast a couple of cloves of garlic. I had to scale down the recipe because it is just my hubby and I, so I boiled the cloves in with the pots. It doesn't work. I will try these again when I am putting something in the oven for dinner so I can roast the garlic. Oh, I also tried to nuke them and that doesn't work either. I hope this helped to let everyone know what not to do. I'll be back with a true rating later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
A solid recipe. Not too garlicky, just right! Pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nick & jody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
OMG! YUMMM!Best mashed potatoes ever. I made these to take to a friends for dinner and all four of us agreed these were the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Great basic Garlic Mash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F150 Master

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
So easy and delicious! I did as a previous reviewer said and took the jarred minced garlic and put it in microwave with olive oil and it worked perfectly! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Outstanding! I have been looking for a recipe that had the garlic flavor, but not too heavy. This fits the bill. I pulled out the garlic pieces that did not blend in the mixer. I also added 1/4 cup mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Epermanis
Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States