Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
These were fabulous...with my modifications. Based on the other reviews, I used more garlic than the recipe called for. I was only making this for 2 people, so I used one head of garlic and one pound of russet potatoes. I used seasoned salt and sea salt, then mashed the potatoes with the garlic, milk to desired consistency, and butter to taste (2-3 tbl). Something was still missing. I added 4 tbl of sour cream. They tasted just like the garlic mashed potatoes that I have had in 5 star restaurants. I served this with the Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon w/Port Wine Sauce from this site (submitted by HebeGebe), a caeser salad, and a bottle of Stag's Leap 2003 Cabernet Sauvignon. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Miller Motley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
These are so yummy! I roasted my head of garlic early in the day because my oven was going to be busy all afternoon. I just squeezed it out into an air-tight containter and kept it covered, on the countertop for a few hours. I used a mix of Yukon Gold and Red potatoes. (I just don't like russet). I also didn't measure the milk; just did it until it seemed right. The garlic flavor really mellows out when it's roasted, so next time, I might even add more garlic. Crazy, I know! I might incorporate the roasted garlic part of this recipe into my fave taters from this site, Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes. Served with Roast Sticky Chicken from this site. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
These were SOOOOOO delicious. Everyone raved about the wonderful flavor. I used a small can of evaporated skim milk instead of regular milk to cut the fat but keep them creamy. I will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This recipe is it!! As per reviews, we roasted the garlic 30 minutes in the oven, and added the oil w/ the garlic. We substituted light sour cream for the milk, and it was perfect!!! Everyone had seconds or thirds at a large family dinner, with lots of other good food they could have had instead! We wondered if we needed to do 2 cloves instead, but this was just right unless you wanted to have garlic with a little potatoes :-) Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This recipe was reinforcement and a reminder that there is just no comparison between garlic mashed potatoes made with roasted garlic and those made simply by throwing some garlic cloves in with the potatoes and cooking water. Not EVEN comparing apples and apples. The garlic flavor is pronounced but mellowed out by roasting, mild and pleasantly nutty. There is a big reward for taking this extra step. The biggest problem or effort is simply that of planning ahead. I roasted my garlic early on in the day, then just left it in the aluminum foil until I was ready for it. I stuck strictly with butter, no olive oil, and probably double the amount of garlic, but this recipe's submitter has Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes down pat. This is the stuff you'd expect to find in the finest steakhouses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
These potatoes taste almost exactly like the ones my husband and I had on our honeymoon in Vegas...and let me tell you they cost a pretty penny. Absolutely wonderful. I will admit that if you are not a garlic lover, you may want to cut down on the amount...it is a bit strong, but it is just the way we like it. I also took another reviewer's advice and added some parmesan cheese to it...wonderful idea. Thanks for a great new side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Delicious!!!! Better than what I had in a restaurant this weekend. The only thing I did different was to use red potatoes with their skins and canned milk instead of regular milk. Served with Garlic Lime Chicken and my company really liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This is an amazing recipe. Keep an eye on your roasting garlic as half an hour works for me. I have this when having Amy's Osso Buco. Perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I'm never making regular mashed potatoes again! My family loved these at Thanksgiving dinner. I added another bulb of roasted garlic because we are true garlic-lovers. It was also a hit at the Christmas potluck (regular amount of garlic for that one). Be sure to keep an eye on the garlic because it doesn't look nice in the potatoes if it gets too browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
This was excellent! My whole family loved it! I made it with Christmas dinner and both my mother and grandmother asked me for the recipe! Everyone else around the table said they loved it too!! Highly recommended for the garlic lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States