Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Delicious! Try making this with red potatoes (skin on)....very good! Also, I added a little romano cheese and oregano to the potatoes before mixing all-together. Try it, you wont be sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Great recipe! Well worth the minimal effort to roast the garlic. I just threw mine in the oven in the morning for about 75 minutes, then kept it in the tin foil until I was ready to mash the potatoes. We served these with grilled salmon and crisp tender asparagus. Restaurant quality at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This recipe was reinforcement and a reminder that there is just no comparison between garlic mashed potatoes made with roasted garlic and those made simply by throwing some garlic cloves in with the potatoes and cooking water. Not EVEN comparing apples and apples. The garlic flavor is pronounced but mellowed out by roasting, mild and pleasantly nutty. There is a big reward for taking this extra step. The biggest problem or effort is simply that of planning ahead. I roasted my garlic early on in the day, then just left it in the aluminum foil until I was ready for it. I stuck strictly with butter, no olive oil, and probably double the amount of garlic, but this recipe's submitter has Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes down pat. This is the stuff you'd expect to find in the finest steakhouses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Soooo Good!! Follow the directions except I put a 1/2 c. of sour cream instead of the milk...I never attempt to roasted garlic but will do so to make this recipe because they were delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Awesome. I used more garlic because we just love garlic. Roasted garlic is my favorite. I roasted a few more heads of garlic and spread them on French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Excellent. Roasting the garlic is such a great idea! I also added 3 tablespoons cream cheese and 2 tablespoons of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was the first time I've made mashed potatoes and I feel like a top chef! I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Oh, so delicious! I used more garlic than called for and will use even more next time. Keep in mind that I am not a garlic fanatic and don't usually use more than is called for in a recipe, so this addition really was necessary. Otherwise, it was wonderful! They reminded me of potatoes I would get in a steakhouse. : ) I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Oh so good!!! I didn't change a thing and the potatoes turned out to be the best my hubby and I have ever eaten. You wouldn't think just the addition of roasted garlic to potatoes would make such a big difference but, boy, does it!!!! I served them with a tossed salad and Marinated Grilled Shrimp which is also on this site. Hubby was in heaven and I was thrilled. Thank you so much for the recipe. I won't ever make "just plain" mashed potatoes again! Oops, I did do one thing differently. I never cook my potatoes in salted water. When you cook veggies with salt, it can cause them to cook unevenly, causing you to end up with lumpy mashed potatoes. Besides, it's much easier to control the amount of salt if you add it after cooking, which is very important to many people. It doesn't have any effect on the taste of the potatoes either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Delicious! I added a heaping tablespoon of sour cream, but otherwise kept the recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States