Roasted Garlic Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Great taste. Very minor changes. Used 2 heaping teaspoons of minced garlic from a jar which I added to the sautéed onion just a minute or 2 before onion was cooked. Used fresh rosemary. Will use this dip as a sauce over zucchini noodles as well. I liked the taste of this dip with carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alnkathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I did not like this at all, there are more recipes for the same thing far better than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Was out of rosemary so I used my usual Italian seasoning to roast the garlic. Used cannellini beans from the freezer because they were ready, worked great. Only 2 heads of garlic because that was all I had on hand. We are huge garlic fans so I planned on adding more the next day but I left it as is and it's fine. Spread the bean dip on tortillas for roasted veggie tacos which made them better than they would have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This is my first review of anything on here. This is worth the time and an amazing dip, very full of flavor! I didn't have dried dried rosemary but used fresh from the garden. My Husband absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Don't even bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Relatively healthy, but just didn't have that something to bring it to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Not terrible, but boring. Pretty flavorless, considering everything that goes into it. It's lacking acid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made a couple small changes, but nne of them drastic - only had three heads of garlic, and that was just right for this recipe. Also, no dried rosemary so I used an Italian seasoning blend that had rosemary, oregano, marjoram, basil and thyme and that worked fine. Finally, I only had cannelini beans on hand and that also worked fine - I actually think I prefer them as they are a bit creamier than navy beans. The result was one excellent dip! I do think that for us an extra head of garlic might have been too much, but otherwise this is one of my favorites now. Great for veggies, toasted pita wedges, tortilla chips or even crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I attempted this twice. The first I did half roasted and half minced garlic. Soaked my own beans and it still was lacking. Second attempt I added extra rosemary and cumin and roasted 7 heads of garlic and it was still bland. I hate to sound so negative, but I LOVE garlic and hate to waste it on such a tasteless dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I'll agree with another reviewer...way too much garlic initially (and I'm a garlic fan). However, I did make some changes, and I think this dip will work fine. First, I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream and increased it to 3/4 cup. I also added two tablespoons of lemon juice for a bit of zip. Caramelized the onion for some sweetness (from the recipe, I think that's a bit longer than originally stated). The main changes I made were in the spices. I used 1 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp each of ground coriander, sumac, Aleppo pepper and paprika and then a pinch of Cayenne. With the changes made, I think this one served with pita bread will be a staple for us when we're doing a Mediterranean/North African menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States