Roasted Garlic Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I made this for a pot luck at work and everyone enjoyed it. I saw people using it as a vegetable, tortilla and pretzel dip. Instead of sour cream I used some drained yogurt that I had on hand (I let the yogurt drain overnight in a cheesecloth). I was afraid that four heads of garlic might be a bit excessive, but it wasn't. I think it'd also be tasty in place of hummus on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Whilo not a terrible dip, I thought it was a little boring. There are several other dips I'd make before this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
The garlic flavor was too strong, and I usually love a lot of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This is excellent! I used cannelli beans because thats what I had, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Wouldn't change anything! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is great. At first I was disappointed bc I couldn't taste rosemary. Then I realized that I didn't actually follow the directions (this is not an unusual occurence for me!) and roasted the garlic in the skin, so of course there was no rosemary flavor. So I added some rosemary and I'm happy. Next time I'll try with roasting garlic without the skin and with the rosemary. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made a couple small changes, but nne of them drastic - only had three heads of garlic, and that was just right for this recipe. Also, no dried rosemary so I used an Italian seasoning blend that had rosemary, oregano, marjoram, basil and thyme and that worked fine. Finally, I only had cannelini beans on hand and that also worked fine - I actually think I prefer them as they are a bit creamier than navy beans. The result was one excellent dip! I do think that for us an extra head of garlic might have been too much, but otherwise this is one of my favorites now. Great for veggies, toasted pita wedges, tortilla chips or even crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Meg A.
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was pretty good. But I made this to go with carrots - not so good! I think it would taste awesome on tacos though. Also, I used only half the garlic - it was more than plenty. My garlic LOVING husband said it was a bit too much. But I might make it again to use in place of refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Wow!!! I really enjoyed this recipe. It's full of flavor, easy and versatile. I used different beans but stuck to the recipe otherwise. It's worth a try and would be a hit at any party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Not terrible, but boring. Pretty flavorless, considering everything that goes into it. It's lacking acid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I'll agree with another reviewer...way too much garlic initially (and I'm a garlic fan). However, I did make some changes, and I think this dip will work fine. First, I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream and increased it to 3/4 cup. I also added two tablespoons of lemon juice for a bit of zip. Caramelized the onion for some sweetness (from the recipe, I think that's a bit longer than originally stated). The main changes I made were in the spices. I used 1 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp each of ground coriander, sumac, Aleppo pepper and paprika and then a pinch of Cayenne. With the changes made, I think this one served with pita bread will be a staple for us when we're doing a Mediterranean/North African menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States