Roasted Garlic Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I made this for a pot luck at work and everyone enjoyed it. I saw people using it as a vegetable, tortilla and pretzel dip. Instead of sour cream I used some drained yogurt that I had on hand (I let the yogurt drain overnight in a cheesecloth). I was afraid that four heads of garlic might be a bit excessive, but it wasn't. I think it'd also be tasty in place of hummus on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
The garlic flavor was too strong, and I usually love a lot of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Whilo not a terrible dip, I thought it was a little boring. There are several other dips I'd make before this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This is excellent! I used cannelli beans because thats what I had, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Wouldn't change anything! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Wow!!! I really enjoyed this recipe. It's full of flavor, easy and versatile. I used different beans but stuck to the recipe otherwise. It's worth a try and would be a hit at any party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meg A.
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was pretty good. But I made this to go with carrots - not so good! I think it would taste awesome on tacos though. Also, I used only half the garlic - it was more than plenty. My garlic LOVING husband said it was a bit too much. But I might make it again to use in place of refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is great. At first I was disappointed bc I couldn't taste rosemary. Then I realized that I didn't actually follow the directions (this is not an unusual occurence for me!) and roasted the garlic in the skin, so of course there was no rosemary flavor. So I added some rosemary and I'm happy. Next time I'll try with roasting garlic without the skin and with the rosemary. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I'll agree with another reviewer...way too much garlic initially (and I'm a garlic fan). However, I did make some changes, and I think this dip will work fine. First, I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream and increased it to 3/4 cup. I also added two tablespoons of lemon juice for a bit of zip. Caramelized the onion for some sweetness (from the recipe, I think that's a bit longer than originally stated). The main changes I made were in the spices. I used 1 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp each of ground coriander, sumac, Aleppo pepper and paprika and then a pinch of Cayenne. With the changes made, I think this one served with pita bread will be a staple for us when we're doing a Mediterranean/North African menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I attempted this twice. The first I did half roasted and half minced garlic. Soaked my own beans and it still was lacking. Second attempt I added extra rosemary and cumin and roasted 7 heads of garlic and it was still bland. I hate to sound so negative, but I LOVE garlic and hate to waste it on such a tasteless dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made a couple small changes, but nne of them drastic - only had three heads of garlic, and that was just right for this recipe. Also, no dried rosemary so I used an Italian seasoning blend that had rosemary, oregano, marjoram, basil and thyme and that worked fine. Finally, I only had cannelini beans on hand and that also worked fine - I actually think I prefer them as they are a bit creamier than navy beans. The result was one excellent dip! I do think that for us an extra head of garlic might have been too much, but otherwise this is one of my favorites now. Great for veggies, toasted pita wedges, tortilla chips or even crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States