Roasted Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Excellent ideas, Garlic is sooo good when eroasted. I use the microwave, a glass measuring cup a handful of peeled Garlic cloves, pick off the woody part , cover with small microwave safe dish. 1-2 min on high power. Olive oil is good also with this or just plain. Stick with tooth pick and enjoy. On the grill. Put peeled Garlic cloves into a small foil baking pan, drizzle with your favorite oil, sprinkle some Italian seasoning (salt free). Wrap in foil, set on grill near fire. Roast 5-10min. When adding meat to grill open foil and move to back of grill, garlic wil have a smokey flavor. Spread onto bread, or just pile ontop a fershly grilled steak, slab of fish, pork, chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
this was delicious! We spread it on toasted bread and on pizza dough before making pizza. One suggestion: The time amount is WAY off. It needs about 45 minutes in the oven to get a soft, clove and mild, sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
I thought it turned out great, after I cooked it twice as long. I took a few and mashed it with butter, pepper, and garlic salt and added a little to popcorn. It was actually verrryy good. Also, I know an easy way to get the garlic stench off your hands: rinse your hands under cool water while rubbing a metal utensil (butter knife or spoon). Sounds silly, but I swear it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2003
I have bad luck with baked/roasted garlic it seems. With this one, I dont think the little garlic had nearly enough time to cook. It took forever to get the garlic soft. After about 50 mintues, I took it out and it -was- tasty! I guess I'll just have to raise the temp. slightly and let it cook for more time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
The time was way off for me too. I ended up slow roasting it at 250 for about 50 minutes and it turned out soft and delicious. The timing depends on the size of garlic head you are using, so be sure to poke a clove with a toothpick at the minimum recommended time and every 5-7 minutes thereafter until it's as soft as you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
Who knew this was so easy?? I used my roasted garlic in the "Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe" instead of raw garlic - to die for!! You could definitely get away with alot less oil! Really terrific to know how to do this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
i just felt like the temperature wasn't high enough. after 20 minutes, the garlic didn't look cooked at all. i let it cook about 20 more minutes, and it still wasn't very roasted. i ate it anyway b/c i was tired of waiting. but next time, i think i'll try a much higher temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I normally use Method 1, but tried the 2nd methold this time. It worked very well. I didn't know that you can roast garlic this way. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I love roasted garlic but I do it a little different...I peel each garlic clove and then make a little "bowl" out of tin foil by putting the garlic in the middle and then wrapping the tin foil up and sinching at the top. I leave an opening and put a pad of butter right on top. I also bake at 350 for 30 mins....turns out perfect. I mash it...add a little salt and spread it on italian bread and top it off with a little romano or parmesan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittykat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This recipe is great, after the oven is turned up substantially. Excellent with warm Italian bread. NOTE: Do NOT try to shortcut and microwave garlic! It may burst into flames, fill your house with smoke, and ruin your micro. Just...trust me on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States