Roasted Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
The method is pretty spot-on, but the temp is WAY too low, along with the bake time. You'll never get the result you are looking for (soft & tender cloves) at only 250 degrees for 20 minutes. I usually roast mine, covered in tinfoil or in a covered baking dish, about 45 minutes at 350-375 degrees. Then, I remove the foil or cover and roast another 15 minutes, until soft & tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Yes, I make this all the time, have done for years. Bake at 350-400 F for at least 30 minutes or sometimes do it on the BBQ grill. Usually serve with warmed Brie or Camembert on a baguette, sometimes with a piece of fresh basil and a baby tomato OR top the melted cheese with something sweet, like pepper jelly or even any kind of jam. YUMMY! Great appetizer when you are sitting around with friends waiting for dinner to be ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kamsack, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
this was fantastic, I put on bread, pasta, potatoes, butter beans and many other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
om-nom-nom! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
The timing and temperature were WAY off! Bad recipe, do not use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I think you mean to preheat to 350 not 250 degrees. I roasted the garlic for 30 minutes at 350 & that wasn't long enough for a paste. I would roast it for 45 minutes at 350 for the paste. I made beefaroni & added 2 roasted heads of garlic. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan's nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Buy it peeled. Use it as fresh and when the garlic starts to deteriorate, use this recipe. Freeze the results to be used/rewarmed/reconstituted at a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
The cooking time in the recipe is WAY off. At 250 degrees you're probably going to need a minimum of close to an hour. You should also try and peal away as much of the loose "paper" on the clove before baking. I usually just wrap the garlic in foil and toss it in the oven with whatever else I am baking- a casserole, roasting meat, potatoes, whatever. At higher temps you can probably pull it out after 45 minutes or so but it's moist enough that it won't burn if you leave it in even for well over an hour. I first heard of the recipe on a rerun of the old Dragnet TV show that I saw over 20 years ago. Officer Gannon (played by the late Harry Morgan) made a roast garlic and banana sandwich that he offered to share with Sargent Joe Friday. Friday declined the offer. I didn't. I made it for myself and it's actually not half bad. But there are better ways to use roast garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I agree, the timing is off. We ended up putting it in the oven for 25 more minutes until it was tender. We ate the garlic on french bread for "dessert", but it was great all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Roasted garlic is amazing but this recipe is waaay off. Preheat oven to 425 drizzle with olive oil and bake for 45 mins or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CircleB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States