Roasted Eggplant and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
For folks who had a watery mess on their hands -- before you chop your eggplant but after you take the skin off, place it in a colander and generously sprinkle salt all over it. Put a plate over it and leave it there for 30 minutes. Then rinse the eggplant off. The salt soaks up the water somehow, yet the water rinse doesn't get through! We make a lot of baked eggplant in my house, and I always have a disaster if I skip this step to save time. (It's fine though if you're just breading and frying it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Well, with all due respect to the previous reviewers of this recipe, I liked it! I went with more tomato paste than the recipe called for, along with some diced tomatoes and italian seasonings. Coming from a steak-loving man who has never really been that big into veggies, I find this recipe a great way to get vegetables into my diet with a little bit of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
You can add a little zip to this by increasing garlic, adding some freshh Romas quartered, and some crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I was looking for a recipe without frying or using bread crumbs, etc. I used this one, put a can and a half of Italian herbed tomato sauce, more onion, yellow squash instead of zucchini, and some pepper flakes and shredded cheese. Then baked it longer than called for, when I stirred it I determined when it was baked enough. As soon as it came out of the oven it was too soupy, but I let it set and the consistency was perfect. My Italian born sister-in-law makes eggplant parmesan and the taste of this was almost the same, without so much fat. I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This wasn't my favorite. I think that it may have a bit of hope if there was something else added like maybe some cut up spicy Itialian sausage or something. These are some of my favorite veges, & this didn't float my boat. Thanks anyway Phoebe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
Surprisingly robust this was not. To salvage my ingredients, which were swimming sadly tasteless water, I extended the roasting time another 20 minutes. When that failed I got creative...I added a quarter of a cup of freshly chopped herbs: rosemary, thyme and basil; and 12 coursely chopped sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil, with a tablespoon of their oil. I spread this new mixture across the bottom of a large lasagna pan and roasted under the broiler for 10 minutes, stirring a couple of times. Now it is robust, not runny. Works well with feta cheese and is an excellent compliment to the other garden vegetable filling my basket just now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Broad Brook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
My husband and I loved this recipe. I made a few changes by adding more onion and doubling the sauce recipe. I also roasted it in a 9 by 11 pan and put 4 Italian sausages on top to roast with it. It made a great and easy weekday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I left out the mushrooms (didn't have any) and added tons of spices...red pepper flakes, paprika, lots of garlic, black pepper. I topped the dish w/ a little feta cheese for the last 10 minutes of cooking. This came out really good. I also added some fresh green beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
I found this dish very bland. It really doesn't have any spices or strong flavors in it, and eggplant and zucchini aren't vegetables with a lot of natural flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Having read several other reviews, I made some alterations to this recipe. First, I opted for an oven top saute rather than a baked dish and served it with pasta- this was perfect. I used olive oil to bring the onion and garlic to a golden color. I added vegetarian italian sausage (regular sausage for meat eaters would work), and instead of basil used thyme. Additionally, I added a splash of red wine (whatever you have open, I used Shiraz) and instead of the tomato paste and water, I used about a cup of store bought sauce to bring out the acidity. Though I did not try it, I agree that red pepper flakes could be a nice addition too. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States