Roasted Eggplant and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
this was a solid recipe :) next time i'm really going to tweak the seasonings but i'll definitely use this as a base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
5/08
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This was a great, quick recipe, and a good one to expand on, too! I added sauteed mushrooms, and a layer of baby spinach leaves. I thought the goat cheese flavor was just a bit too strong, but my husband thought it was just right. I took the leftover roasted eggplant and pepper and made wraps the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyrochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I found this recipe quite tastless and a waste of time. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Very good, unfortunately my eggplant was bad, so obviously I eliminated it. I added green and red peppers and used crushed tomatoes instead of the paste. I just love roasted veggies. I will add the eggplant next time and today I will stuff the leftovers into a whole wheat pita for dinner and of course a sprinkle of hot pepper flakes. Thanks for a tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I was looking for a recipe without frying or using bread crumbs, etc. I used this one, put a can and a half of Italian herbed tomato sauce, more onion, yellow squash instead of zucchini, and some pepper flakes and shredded cheese. Then baked it longer than called for, when I stirred it I determined when it was baked enough. As soon as it came out of the oven it was too soupy, but I let it set and the consistency was perfect. My Italian born sister-in-law makes eggplant parmesan and the taste of this was almost the same, without so much fat. I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
For folks who had a watery mess on their hands -- before you chop your eggplant but after you take the skin off, place it in a colander and generously sprinkle salt all over it. Put a plate over it and leave it there for 30 minutes. Then rinse the eggplant off. The salt soaks up the water somehow, yet the water rinse doesn't get through! We make a lot of baked eggplant in my house, and I always have a disaster if I skip this step to save time. (It's fine though if you're just breading and frying it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
It was good, but not great. very easy to put together and somewhat comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I left out the mushrooms (didn't have any) and added tons of spices...red pepper flakes, paprika, lots of garlic, black pepper. I topped the dish w/ a little feta cheese for the last 10 minutes of cooking. This came out really good. I also added some fresh green beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Honestly it was pretty much a mushy mess after I was done. The mushrooms were good, but in order to get good mushrooms, the other items, especially the eggplant was too smooshy for my taste. It may have been better with more oil, less water and cooked on a cookie sheet or something metal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States