Roasted Eggplant and Garlic Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AZ93
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I can't say I agree with a lot of the other viewers. I thought this was delicious! You really do have to follow the proportions though. I halved everything and tasted it and it was delicious. (I did also sweat the eggplant, slice, peel and roast it about 25 minutes at 400). Then I added the other half can of garbanzos and totally lost the wonderful, roasted flavor. At that point I tried adding things in like tahini, more garlic, lemon, etc., to try to fix my error, but to no avail. The new version is ok, but the exact recipe was great! It comes out pretty chunky (see photo) but that's great because you get the individual flavors of the ingredients. Go into this with an open mind. It might have been better to call it a dip rather than a hummus because then people expect it to take like hummus. It doesn't. But if you savor the flavors for a moment, you'll realize it has a great, natural flavor in its own right. Can't wait to make it again, thanks Stengah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I didn't like the texture the eggplant gave to the hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I agree with some of the others that it doesn't have much flavour as is. I am on weight watchers and everything I eat has to be very flavourful and satisfying. It has to be WORTH IT to eat it:) The only thing I found that added that POP of flavour (after adding oregano, lemon juice and a bit of feta) was roasted red peppers. Now it's delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSIA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I had an abundance of eggplant from my local farmers co-op so I thought I would try something different. I wish I hadn't. I apologize to those of you who like this recipe but I found it completely unedible. I don't know how any of the usual hummus additions like lemon juice, tahini, peppers etc.. could possibly help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This is awesome. I used it to make Hummus Pizza. I used a whole bulb of garlic. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Yummy. A little chewy. Not really worth the effort of the eggplant. Needed tahini, lemon juice and lots of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
The eggplant in this helps to make this a very creamy dip. However, it is not really a hummus. It was more like an eggplant dip with some garbanzo. It is pretty bland and tasteless as is. It needs tahini, lemon, cumin and a dash of cayenne pepper. I used 1/2 of a large eggplant and did not include the skin. I was worried about it not blending smooth enough. It was much better after the addition of the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
The recipe title promises a lot and does not deliver. Very, very bland. I added lemon juice, additional garlic, tahini and curry powder. Now THAT was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I don't know if I did something wrong but this was very bland. Did not go over well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States