Roasted Eggplant and Garlic Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was sooo delicious. I ate spoonfuls of it right out of the food processor. Even my 15 month old son gobbled it up. I ran out of olive oil so I just used regular canola oil, but I didn't change anything else. It was great, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
We liked this one, but there are too much garbanzo beans, so I had to add garlic. overall, it's very easy and tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This hummus was easy to make, and came out with a somewhat decent texture. I liked that it's quick to make and that the ingredients are affordable. However, the hummus was very bland. After making it according to instructions, I had to doctor the recipe up quite a bit to make it enjoyable. This might be a good base, but I would not serve it as-is. I give it two stars for affordability, accessibility, nutritional value and texture. It severely lacks in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Turned out too bland. Had to add peppers and tomatoes and more garlic. Easy recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Used dried beans instead of canned. Needed to add water as consistency was too thick. Agree w/ other review - this was too bland. Added more salt and fresh ground black pepper. Will probably add cayanne pepper to give it a little kick as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I belong to a food coop and have an abundance of eggplant. Ergo: this recipe. I added a little more salt and some pepper. I roasted a whole head of garlic with the eggplant and squeezed that in at the finish. I also added one large spoonfull of tahini and the juice of half a lemon, and it was MARVELOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Delicious! I added 1/2 tsp of garlic salt, 1 tsp of balsamic vinegar, and I used low sodium beans. wonderful with warm pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I don't know if I did something wrong but this was very bland. Did not go over well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
The recipe title promises a lot and does not deliver. Very, very bland. I added lemon juice, additional garlic, tahini and curry powder. Now THAT was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
The eggplant in this helps to make this a very creamy dip. However, it is not really a hummus. It was more like an eggplant dip with some garbanzo. It is pretty bland and tasteless as is. It needs tahini, lemon, cumin and a dash of cayenne pepper. I used 1/2 of a large eggplant and did not include the skin. I was worried about it not blending smooth enough. It was much better after the addition of the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States