Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
The duck came out fantastic. I tried other recipies that called for pricking the skin / steaming the duck before roasting to get rid of the fat - etc. Out of these complicated methods - yours was simplest and gave the best result. My tip - as duck releases a lot of fat, I made a "grill" to raise the duck above the pool of fat - so I lined the bottom of cast iron pot with peeled whole carrots. When the duck is done, the skin is crispy and carrots are tender and soaked through with delicious fat and drippings. The carrots got eaten more quicky than the duck itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
The cooking time was right on the money, and I was very happy to find a seasoning idea that didn't include fruit or a fruit glaze. The only thing I did differently was to omit the butter because duck is notoriously greasy. I removed the duck and the juices from the roaster, deglazed with white wine and then made a delicious gravy to serve over roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Great recipe, I added garlic powder and smoked paprika (hot). I also put potato and onion chunks (salted) into the fatb in the pan for the last 30 minutes or so. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking with little buddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
AWESOME!! A little work involved-easy though- so YUMMY! How do you resist eating the crispy skin??!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Pretty good! Especially with your own ducks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Andover, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Outstanding...I didn't think I'd care much for duck, WOW was I wrong! Great dish, and very simple to prepare. This one really "fits the bill" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nianguapups

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Niangua, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is a great recipe. Simple and delicious. My husband couldn't more pleased about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
It's easy, and delicious. I reduced cooking time by 15 minutes. Will be a staple from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Delicious. I stuffed it with apple, walnut and raisin stuffing. Was very nice for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodcookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Alicante, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Absolutely love this recipe...so tasty! I stuffed the cavity with lemon wedges, onions and some parsley and like others also added garlic to the rub. Really yummy, my kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States