Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Such a great recipe. Deffently compliments the bird. I took the advice from another reviewer and added 1 Lemon, 1 Bulb of garlic, and 1 sweet onion all chopped in pieces/wedges in the duck cavity. I also added fresh thyme. I rubbed the bird down with the spices listed, and skipped the butter. I baisted the bird with its own juices about every 30 min. It came out so perfect and tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Huntington

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This was great, but with the alterations! I know it's good when my husband makes this certain grunt/moan noise. That sounds weirder than it is... Either way, followed suggestions and put half an onion and lemon in the cavity, threw some chopped garlic and rosemary on top, and ignored the butter (basted it in its juice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmith89

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was my very first time ever preparing duck and it was fantastic! For thanksgiving I prepared duck and roasted chicken and there were no left overs from the duck. I will be using this receipe again for our Christmas dinner and beyond. I was very pleased with the results. I would recommend to season the meat the night before to get the full benefits of the seasonings. Bon Apetit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
WONDERFUL!!! I made this for Thanksgiving, a bit fearful, but with so many raving reviews I had to try it. First, I poked many holes in the "skin only" to help release the grease (as recommended by other sites.) I used the ingredients in this recipe plus 1 tsp. garlic and 1 tsp. seasoning salt as others had suggested. I rubbed the seasoning on it the day before and let it sit overnight in the frige. WOW! It was the best duck that I have ever eaten! I was so impressed and so very pleased. Throw away the orange sauce that comes with the duck, it does no justice! I have tried it before and was never impressed. Before trying this recipe I really wasn't impressed with duck, but now, WOW! You must try it! This will be my only "go to" recipe for duck! LOVED IT, as did the family! I cooked a 7lb duck. Used the meat thermomiter to reach between 160 and 180. I also put a rack in the roasting pan so it wouldn't sit in the grease. Also, I read to save the grease in the frige, it is great for the best fried potatoes or fried eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wren Sharpbeak
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this last year for Thanksgiving because it was simple, and it was such a huge hit that I had to make another one for Easter. Here it is one year later and the smell of duck in the oven again is just heavenly. This duck is a new Holiday tradition in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wren Sharpbeak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This is the first time I tried cooking duck. It is a simple, full of flavor recipe. It was very moist. No greasy flavor at all. I definitely recommend using an orange sauce as it brings out the flavor in the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
My family LOVED this recipe. I was even told by my husband that I made better roasted duck then his mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrington, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
The seasoning is good but the duck came out a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by russiansweetie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Very greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is absolutely the best, simplest recipe for cooking a duck in a way that doesn't overpower the flavor of the duck, it enhances it. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States