Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I bought a 2.7 lb duck on a whim on Saturday and decided to try this recipe. It was amazing! I used a little less of the seasoning mix due to the smaller bird, I also added garlic powder. I stuffed the cavity with a cut up yellow onion and a mandarin orange I had poked holes into. I cooked it for a little over an hour at 365F and just used the fat to baste every 30 min or so (I didn't use the butter). I also don't have a roasting pan so I just used a rectangular square baking pan and it worked fine. I used a meat thermometer to make sure it was 180F and let it rest for about 20 min with a foil tent. It was so juicy and the skin was delicious! My brother and boyfriend was so impressed that my boyfriend has demanded we have duck every week! I am cooking another one (6 lb this time) right now and I have cut up carrots, onions and garlic under it this time to lift it out of the fat a bit. So excited! Thanks for the recipe and the reviews, they are so helpful! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse Hunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Great recipe! First time cooking duck, and it came out delicious and tender. . . but very greasy -- especially with the butter on top. Won't use butter next time, found the duck browned well on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
The rating is for the recipe as written. The changes I made to make it 4 stars are as follows. No butter, just basted with duck juices half way through. Stuffed the inside with 1 lemon quartered, 6 pearl onions, & 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic. The skin was delicious. I plan on tweaking the stuffing some next time. Overall I really enjoyed the simplicity of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Love this recipe. It's the start of my Duck L'orange. The duck is so fatty I eliminate the butter. Cook one hour at 375, drain all fat and return to casserole dish, add one small can of defrosted orange juice concentrate and teaspoon of orange zest. Cook 45min more and serve with wild rice. Simple and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clipperchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Whenever I roast duck, this is the recipe I use. Depending on my mood, sometimes I'll add a few different spices in there. My kids love whenever I make roast duck with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
It was GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annette Holthus Walton
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Made two this Christmas but left out butter. Basted with the drippings every 20 minutes. Absolutely scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Had duck a couple times and it was incredibly moist. Found a 5.7 lb frozen duck on sale and tho it came with an orange sauce packet I didn't want sweet. Used this recipe and cut the butter in half per one suggestion. Then per another suggestion stuffed cavity with 3 chopped garlic cloves, about 1/4 c sliced onion and half a sliced lemon. Added 1/4 tsp of garlic salt to the rub...The results were spectacular! Fixed for my boyfriend and his dad for Christmas Eve supper... Rave reviews!! Even the stock was saved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Excellent recipe. Great spice rub. I only use about a tablespoon of butter and baste it every 30 minutes. After 30 minutes I put melted butter on the bird, after that I baste it with its own juices every 30 minutes. Takes about 2 hours total. Great for duck or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Excellent! Best duck we have ever had. Easy no fuss recipe. Mixed a few ingredients together from different reviews. Sprinkled, garlic powder, paprika and Morton's Season Salt on outside of bird. Stuffed it with lemon, onion and 1 tablespoon of butter. We did a test, the last 15 minutes we basEdt half the bird with Duck Sauce and left half left plain. The winner... The plain side, although the Orange Sauce was great! All in all, this is a great recipe for Holidays or any special occasion. This was one of the best Thanksgiving Dinners ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maude

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States