Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Great recipe. Very easy and tasty. I put a quartered lemon and some sprigs of fresh thyme and savory in the cavity. I did not add butter but basted it with the rendered fat. I made a gravy with the pan drippings (fat separated)and some stock made from the neck, gibblets and wing tips along with chopped carrots, onions and celery.I took the advice of previous reviewers and reduced salt by 1/2t and overall cooking time by 15 mins. A great recipe that you can fancy up or make as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I was inexperienced at cooking duck, which as from past family experiences, can be quite fatty. This basic roasting recipe allowed the true flavor of the duck to be enjoyed without being adulterated by strong added flavors from seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Worked pretty good, but cooking time was a little long for mine. The taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was my first time cooking duck. I have enjoyed it at other homes for years. I found this recipe very easy. However, I didn't understand how/when/if I should have used the "orange seasoning packet" that came with my duck in conjunction with this recipe. I did use it and it wasn't as good as I hoped. Overall, my bird wasn't great, but I blame my inexperience not this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I think duck needs a stronger base of spices to complement the rich taste of the meat, not simply salt, pepper and paprika though those are good choices. I used a mixture of garlic powder, white pepper, a little brown sugar, kosher salt, and raosted then crushed juniper berries and powdered thyme. I scored the meat in diamonds then rubbed the spice in, lightly coated that with olive oil and let sit at room temperature for 45 minutes before searing in a hot skillet both sides darkly (just a few moments because of the sugar). I lowered the heat then cooked about 8 minutes per side on medium low heat for rare. I used Magret Duck Breasts instead of a whole duck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefofthevalley

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Magadan, Magadan Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This is the best way to prepare duck - I used this recipe as a guideline and seasoned 4 duck legs and thighs with whatever I had in the cupboard: thyme, oregano, parsley, garlic, and I squeezed fresh clementine juice on them while they baked. Another idea is putting orange glazed prunes in the roasting pan which add a great flavor to the natural sauce . Delicious with red potatoes and stuffing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This is a perfect example where good does not have to be pretentious. A simple well organized recipe. I suggest a good bottle of Corbieres as a complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Love, love love this recipe. I had always liked the inside of duck, but was not fond at all of the sweet sauce that was always on top. Noone else seemed to know how to do a savory skin. thanks so much...It was delicious. I will now make duck often, and not just for special occassions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
So simple but so delicious. Suprisingly my children said they preferred having duck then chicken. If your not a big salt fan like us then I recommend cutting the salt back a little. Otherwise it´s delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela in Germany

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Georgetown, Illinois, USA
Living In: Borken, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
It was pretty good. I loved how crispy the skin got. Nothing fancy but it was definatly tasty. I don't think I'll wanna eat a duck again for a while though...I can still feel all the grease in me....but it tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States