Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Made this recipe with a duck we raised this year. The duck was skinless, so I used butter, but, only 1/4 cup. I also cut the salt in half since the butter was salted, and added a scant teaspoon of garlic powder. I tented the bird with aluminum foil and cooked it at 400 degrees for an hour and 15 minutes; then let it rest for 10 more minutes still under the foil. Next time I will cut the time down to 45-60 minutes and stay with tenting/resting time at 10 minutes. My husband LOVED it. We skinned half of the ducks we butchered this year and left the skin on the other half, so with the ones WITH skin, I would cut the butter down to only a tablespoon - just enough for the butter flavor. I also think this would be awesome on the grill for a skin-on bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenleaf, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Skip the butter. Duck is fatty as it is and does not need anymore fat. Simply baste the duck with its own juices every half hour or so. For a more tender duck, I would cook it for an hour and a half or so in foil at about 350 first, and then uncover and cook another 1 hour or so at 375. Squeezing an orange on the duck is also nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I truly can't believe how delicious the duck tasted with this recipe, in all it's simplicity. It was so easy. I added a little bit of garlic to the rub (we're big garlic fans) and it was just marvelous! Thank you for this recipe. I've never been a big fan of sugary or fruity glazes on meat. This was perfect! I think I may use this every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Very good. I've tried to get a crispy duck like my favorite Thai restaurant, but this is the one that comes closest. I read the reviews and added garlic and other spices, and left out the butter completely. I also used just a small amount of kosher salt in place of the salt. Kudos to the reviewer who mentioned juniper berries; I've used them with a standing rib roast before, and they add a great pungent taste to the rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Only giving this a 4 star because this is the first time I've tried duck. It was much greasier than I anticipated. I had made it for Thanksgiving last year to try something different but I think I'm going to stick to the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I chose to brine the bird 24 hrs in a mix of Kosher salt and honey.... excellent. Also stuffed a sliced orange into the cavity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earlybird0367

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I pierced the skin of the duck to allow the fat to drain out and roasted it on a rack above a pan so it wouldn't be cooking in its grease. I also omitted the butter. It's amazing how much fat came out of the duck! The duck tasted good, the skin was crispy, but there was very little meat and despite draining out most of the fat, there was still a fairly thick subcutaneous layer remaining. I think there are slow roasting methods that eliminate that problem, but I didn't feel like spending 5+ hours doing that. The biggest problem I had with roasting a duck was the smell. I LOVE duck, but the smell of roasting duck in my apartment was nauseating. I was no longer hungry when it was finished and my living space smelled for days. I think the next time I have a hankering for duck, I'll go to a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is a great base for roasting your first duck. I used 1 tsp of seasoned salt, 1/2 tsp of accent, 1/2 tsp of meat tenderizer. It needs 2 teaspoons of salt as stated. I thought a 5lb duck would not need so much salt. My mistake. But I still had flavor. I gave a four star rating because the instructions did not state whether to cover the duck while roasting. I used a frozen duck and the package said bake uncovered. So after an hour, I put 1/4 cup butter on the duck and it began to fry the duck in the oven so I covered the duck for the last hour so my duck would not burn. I did not apply anymore butter. It was done to perfection. It looked absolutely beautiful. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was the first time I made a roasted duck, it was absolutely marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was pretty good, not really different from roasting a chicken, and not much different in flavor, either. I followed other reviewers' advice and cut the salt and eliminated the butter. Not bad when you really have a craving for duck, but not a regular dish. I made a duck stir-fry with rice with the leftovers, and that was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States