Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Great recipe! First time cooking duck, and it came out delicious and tender. . . but very greasy -- especially with the butter on top. Won't use butter next time, found the duck browned well on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
The rating is for the recipe as written. The changes I made to make it 4 stars are as follows. No butter, just basted with duck juices half way through. Stuffed the inside with 1 lemon quartered, 6 pearl onions, & 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic. The skin was delicious. I plan on tweaking the stuffing some next time. Overall I really enjoyed the simplicity of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Love this recipe. It's the start of my Duck L'orange. The duck is so fatty I eliminate the butter. Cook one hour at 375, drain all fat and return to casserole dish, add one small can of defrosted orange juice concentrate and teaspoon of orange zest. Cook 45min more and serve with wild rice. Simple and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clipperchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Whenever I roast duck, this is the recipe I use. Depending on my mood, sometimes I'll add a few different spices in there. My kids love whenever I make roast duck with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
It was GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALWalton
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Made two this Christmas but left out butter. Basted with the drippings every 20 minutes. Absolutely scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALWalton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Had duck a couple times and it was incredibly moist. Found a 5.7 lb frozen duck on sale and tho it came with an orange sauce packet I didn't want sweet. Used this recipe and cut the butter in half per one suggestion. Then per another suggestion stuffed cavity with 3 chopped garlic cloves, about 1/4 c sliced onion and half a sliced lemon. Added 1/4 tsp of garlic salt to the rub...The results were spectacular! Fixed for my boyfriend and his dad for Christmas Eve supper... Rave reviews!! Even the stock was saved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Excellent recipe. Great spice rub. I only use about a tablespoon of butter and baste it every 30 minutes. After 30 minutes I put melted butter on the bird, after that I baste it with its own juices every 30 minutes. Takes about 2 hours total. Great for duck or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Excellent! Best duck we have ever had. Easy no fuss recipe. Mixed a few ingredients together from different reviews. Sprinkled, garlic powder, paprika and Morton's Season Salt on outside of bird. Stuffed it with lemon, onion and 1 tablespoon of butter. We did a test, the last 15 minutes we basEdt half the bird with Duck Sauce and left half left plain. The winner... The plain side, although the Orange Sauce was great! All in all, this is a great recipe for Holidays or any special occasion. This was one of the best Thanksgiving Dinners ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maude

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was the first time I enjoyed duck! This recipe was simple and delicious. I didn't have paprika so I used Adobo instead. Our duck came with an orange marmalade sauce, which we used as a gravy, rather than pouring it all over the duck. It was nice, but it really didn't need anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlgracealvarado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States