Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this today for my husband and I for Christmas; I used fake butter (I Can't Believe It's Not Butter) just to reduce the calories a bit and it was still bloody fabulous. My husband demands I make this every year, and I was skeptical because he hates turkey and chicken! Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Excellent recipe! I cut a star because Duck is already so fatty that it doesn't need the extra half cup of butter. I skinned it and after adding the season and putting garlic and a lemon in the cavity i placed strips of bacon on top of the duck then roasted it then just discarded the bacon after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Mamma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I added 1/2 teaspoon onion salt, 1 1/2 teaspoons table salt and 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder to the rub. I then added 3 cloves of German Garlic crushed inside the duck. Also it was roasted on a rack in the roaster pan with the lid on for the first hour and then with out the lid. It came out less greasy on a rack. All around a great recipe to start with just needed a little tweak for my personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I debated on giving this 5 stars (I feel people give those too easily and they lose value) but this dish earned it. My husband and I both stopped mid- first bite and looked at each other with surprise, it was so good. It also looked beautiful, I should have taken a picture but we were hungry! I did not use any butter or oil, and neither should you. Duck is VERY fatty and will produce plenty of oil to baste in during cooking. Also, I elevated the duck on quartered potatoes so that it wouldn't be swimming in fat during cooking. I definitely recommend this as it also covers a tasty side dish. I also stuffed the duck with a quartered onion. This recipe is a keeper and my husband demanded the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmgrove86

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Was looking for a recipe that didn't involve glazes and fruit stuffings and came upon this one.. so glad i did. Have eaten duck many times but this was my first time cooking it. I added garlic and seasoning salt to the rub but otherwise kept the recipe the same. Was hesitant about adding the half cup of butter but did it anyways and glad i did. This turned out very tasty and good. My kids and husband loved it! Will keep this and make it again, maybe experiment with a few other spices as well. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
It is good to rub your duck with butter (or oil of your choice)before roasting, but you do not need to baste it with butter throughout the cooking process. Duck is a very fatty meat and does not need this extra fat overkill - especially if you are planning to reserve the duck fat for other cooking projects.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Seal Rock, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was my first time making duck. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Initially thought this would end up a bit dry - but amazed at how moist and tasty it was. Popping this one away for a repeat performance!!!! Tx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
The duck came out fantastic. I tried other recipies that called for pricking the skin / steaming the duck before roasting to get rid of the fat - etc. Out of these complicated methods - yours was simplest and gave the best result. My tip - as duck releases a lot of fat, I made a "grill" to raise the duck above the pool of fat - so I lined the bottom of cast iron pot with peeled whole carrots. When the duck is done, the skin is crispy and carrots are tender and soaked through with delicious fat and drippings. The carrots got eaten more quicky than the duck itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
The cooking time was right on the money, and I was very happy to find a seasoning idea that didn't include fruit or a fruit glaze. The only thing I did differently was to omit the butter because duck is notoriously greasy. I removed the duck and the juices from the roaster, deglazed with white wine and then made a delicious gravy to serve over roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States