Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I wanted my kids to try duck and am not a big fan of the glazes that were out there and found this recipe. As some of the others commented, I was curious to see if it lived up to the rating with minimal ingredients. I made the recipe as stated then read some more reviews while it was baking. I was nervous that it would be too salty so I basted with unsalted butter. Not sure if it made a difference, but it came out DELICIOUS. My kids are eating it up like crazy. The duck is small, but was perfect for me and my 4 kids (under 10). If my husband were here I would definitely have to make 2. My kids loved the way it smelled and looked when it came out of the oven. Another plus! Also as others have stated, I would recommend a meat thermometer, to prevent the duck from drying out. I will definitely keep this recipe and maybe try adding garlic to it next time, just personal preference though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Exactly what I wanted! I didn't want a sweet duck, but more of a savory. And now I have a wonderfully roasted carcass to make a soup. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Dill
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was my first attempt at cooking a duck, and even the first time I had eaten it. Like some others I put onions, garlic and a quartered lemon inside. It tasted wonderful! I also put a rack underneath so it was a little less fatty/greasy. I barely got a chance to eat a piece because everyone loved it so much. Now I need to make one when I don't have family over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Dill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Duck came out great and i loved the flavor on the skin!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LATASHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Like another reviewer, I added garlic and onion powder to the rub. I also put a piece of lemon inside. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
the only thing I changed was I stuffed the duck with veggies and spices before roasting It was faboulous! I used onions,celery,celantro,basil,thyme all fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I am pretty much learning to cook & I love duck. My hubby & I were having cousins over to celebrate anniversary & I wanted to make a special dish (hubby is an excellent cook) & I chose this one. I had never attempted to make duck before. This duck was so easy & came out awesome!!! Only thing I did different was to chop up youkon gold potatoes & some onion, layered that on bottom or pan & put the duck on top. I did not season or oil the potatoes/onions at all, the juice from the duck & butter that was poured over the duck during cooking flavored them perfectly. I suppose a more healthful option would be to roast the duck in a roasting rack so you don't consume all the yummy fat/butter & do veggies on the side. Enjoy everyone, you've only one life to live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Tried this recipe for the first time on Christmas day. Made sure to drain the extra fluid out of the duck during the roasting. I may try to roast it breast side down for the first hour next time to try to crisp the skin a little more evenly all over. The meat was wonderfully roasted, not chewy like duck often turns out. Great, simple, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this today for my husband and I for Christmas; I used fake butter (I Can't Believe It's Not Butter) just to reduce the calories a bit and it was still bloody fabulous. My husband demands I make this every year, and I was skeptical because he hates turkey and chicken! Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Excellent recipe! I cut a star because Duck is already so fatty that it doesn't need the extra half cup of butter. I skinned it and after adding the season and putting garlic and a lemon in the cavity i placed strips of bacon on top of the duck then roasted it then just discarded the bacon after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Mamma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States