Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was very good and so easy to make. I basted the duck with it's rendered fat, you do not need the extra butter! Here's is a trick that I think makes for a crispier skin: 24 to 48 hours before you want to serve it, unwrap, score ( cut across the fat diagonally in both directions, making sure to avoid cutting into the flesh) rub pepper and salt on/ into the skin and cavity and place in the fridge uncovered. This will let the bird dry out and acts as a dry brine. Dry bird= crispy skin! Thank you Rhonda, now I have a go to duck recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe! I accidentally used cayenne instead of paprika and it still came out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING! Can't wait to make it again! I wanted to have duck at Christmas but I never made a duck before, so I tried this one because it seemed easy and I had all the ingredients. WOW! It was SO good that I bought another duck the next time I went to the store and threw it in the freezer just so I could do it again soon! I also threw half of a pear I had left over in the cavity - which I think added to the flavor - but other than that I followed directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I cooked duck for the first time for my family for Valentines day. This recipe was delicious but I did make a few changes as per the other reviews. Leave out the butter completely - duck is very oily. And I added a quartered lemon, 4 halved scallions & 4 garlic cloves inside the bird. I pricked the duck around the neck and drumsticks to help drain some of the fat & I used the drippings from the pan to baste the duck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
My husband has been asking me to prepare duck for years (his mother often made it for holidays) This was simple and very tasty. I followed recipe but made two ducks and placed lemon and onion in the cavity because I had them. I also eliminated the last butter basting after reading other reviews. Very tasty and simple. I was glad to find a recipe that did not use orange sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was such a flop for me, and a HUGE disappointment since i had all my family over and I spent a lot of money on these ducks. It took much much longer to cook, and the meat was not tasty at all. The best part of the meal were the potatoes and carrots I cooked under the duck...Never again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Exceedingly simple but so incredibly delicious! I had never made duck before but I certainly will do it again, it was amazing! I followed the recipe as stated and I don't think I would have changed a thing. I served mine with garlic mashed potatoes and roasted green beans and asparagus with mushrooms and apple crisp for desert, will become a regular meal around my house! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Such a great recipe. Deffently compliments the bird. I took the advice from another reviewer and added 1 Lemon, 1 Bulb of garlic, and 1 sweet onion all chopped in pieces/wedges in the duck cavity. I also added fresh thyme. I rubbed the bird down with the spices listed, and skipped the butter. I baisted the bird with its own juices about every 30 min. It came out so perfect and tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Huntington

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This was great, but with the alterations! I know it's good when my husband makes this certain grunt/moan noise. That sounds weirder than it is... Either way, followed suggestions and put half an onion and lemon in the cavity, threw some chopped garlic and rosemary on top, and ignored the butter (basted it in its juice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmith89

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was my very first time ever preparing duck and it was fantastic! For thanksgiving I prepared duck and roasted chicken and there were no left overs from the duck. I will be using this receipe again for our Christmas dinner and beyond. I was very pleased with the results. I would recommend to season the meat the night before to get the full benefits of the seasonings. Bon Apetit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States