Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! My family have never been very keen on duck, but this recipe has changed their minds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Easy and absolutely delicious!!! Highly recommend to to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made duck using this recipe for the first time for Christmas dinner, it was amazing. I am a very big critic of recipes on this website. I will be using this recipe to start a tradition in my family, duck every christmas with this recipe for the rest of my life.Sounds good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Great recipe, and really easy. I used white pepper and rock salt, and put a good amount of salt inside the cavity. That flavors it throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lemongingertea
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I wouldn't change *a thing* about this recipe. Just make sure the duck is perfectly in the center of the oven so it isn't too close to the elements (so it won't brown too fast). Since I roasted two ducks in one oven, on top of one another other (one on a higher rack, one below) and switched them out so they would brown evenly. It came out WONDERFUL. There is a LOT of butter but that's okay because it tasted even better. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I just made this today for my husband and I for Thanksgiving. We wanted something other than turkey because we will be celebrating the holiday with family this weekend and didn't want to get "turkeyed out". I had never had duck before much less cooked one, but I agreed to try it at my husband's request. WOW... I am SO glad I did, it was just simply to die for. I followed the recipe exactly except for adding a 1/2 tsp each of garlic and onion powder to the rub. My duck was just over 5lbs and we had no leftovers at all. I will definately be making this again. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I must say I have had duck in 5 star restaurants it was always delicious. I never seen duck for sale in my grocery store until one day I was in Aldi an they had a 2.5lb duck for sale for $12 I knew that was a good price a single serving of duck in a restaurant is $15 or more. Well as simple as this recipe is it's all that's needed. I did alter a few things my rub was made with garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, & black pepper. I stuffed the cavity w/ lemon wedges, garlic cloves, & sprinkled dry thyme in the cavity. My sister inlaw had the perfect raised baking pan for the duck which I cooked covered w/ foil for the 1st 45 minutes in the bottom of the pan I put carrots & potatoes cut up. I did poke holes in the duck with a big fork so the fat can drain off into the pan which season the veggies well.. This duck was so flavorful. Next time I make it I will cook 2 ducks. This is a fatty meat, & does not need the "butter" at all it got more than enough oil.I did season the duck overnight left in fridge and took it out to air dry get room temp 2.5 hours before cooking. & the cooking time is 1.5 hours to 2 hours depending on how well you want your poultry cooked. I don't chance it I cooked my meat for maybe a little over 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I have to say - this was absolutely delicious. We made the recipe as written with the exception of adding garlic and sugar to the rub and stuffing the cavity with green onion and an orange. We did use the butter; even though duck is extremely fatty, I believe the butter on the outside of the skin initially got the browning process going. The fat was rendered out of the skin and it was crispy and unctuous, just the way a duck should be cooked. Served with bruschetta topped with carmelized figs in honey and manchego cheese, as well as the "Easy Arugula Salad" here on AR. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Great recipe I suggest using a rack in a roasting pan because duck is very greasy and you may start your house on fire lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was so simple to prep and cook and it tasted fantastic! The seasoning is simple allowing the natural flavor of the duck to dominate, and the large quantities of butter made the duck extremely moist. This may be the only way I ever cook duck again, with absolutely no change to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States