Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Used this recipe to make my first roasted duck for Christmas dinner--it was a great success! The recipe is deceptively simple, but the results are exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I have never had much success cooking duck. This recipe is remarkably simple and delicious! There is no reason to try a more complicated recipe. My cooking time was much shorter than the recipe called for. A thermometer is a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Bambam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This recipe was very easy to cook. I have never had duck before or have cooked it. To give you an Idea I am a 25 year old man that just started getting into cooking. The only changes that I made is after letting the duck cook for an hour I used 1/4 of a cup of butter. You do not need to add any more butter after that. The fat on ducks is so thick you dont really have to worry about it drying out!!!!! This recipe is so simple even a cave man can do it....... Just make sure you check the internal temp....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I am very rarely intimidated by the concept of preparing any kind of meat, but I've been regaled with many tales of why duck is difficult, and why someone who isn't a classically trained chef and/or doesn't have the "proper" equipment should steer clear of this tasty bird. After trying this recipe, which marked my first foray into duck-roasting territory, I'm pleased to say that ANYONE who has ever roasted a chicken can pull off this recipe. I changed the recipe only slightly: added 1 teaspoon of garlic to the rub, used only 1/4 cup butter, basted every 30 minutes, and had it in the oven for 20 minutes shorter than the instructions called for. What came out was perfectly crispy skin with moist meat cooked to medium (might not recommended by the USDA, but it's how it is properly served).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Zesty Zaftig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was the best roasted duck we have ever had. The rub was tasty, the duck moist, the skin golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Very good. Although I found I had to cook my duck for 2 hours not the 1 hour 45 minutes listed. I quartered an orange and stuffed the cavity with it I also stuffed in sprigs of fresh parsley. I basted every 15 minutes and turned the duck upside down half way through cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Sadly, this didn't do much for us. We were very disappointed. Could have been that we just had an ugly duckling, but I followed the recipe to a T, our it turned out very average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
A decent, basic duck recipe that doesn't overpower the flavor of the duck with too many spices. The butter, however, is *extreme* overkill. Duck is already a very fatty meat. The last thing it needs is to have a half cup of butter dumped over it. Stuff the cavity with some onion, lemon wedges, and garlic cloves, skip the butter entirely, and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
454 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
So easy. So awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orangette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
What a wonderful and simple recipe! I made this for Easter dinner last year and everyone loved it. Even the picky kids there thought it was awsome. I do add garlic and onion powder to my seasoning but it's still perfect just the way it is. Great for anyone looking for a great duck recipe without all the pomp and circumstance (who needs orange sauce when it tastes this good). Two Thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States