Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was the best roasted duck we have ever had. The rub was tasty, the duck moist, the skin golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Very good. Although I found I had to cook my duck for 2 hours not the 1 hour 45 minutes listed. I quartered an orange and stuffed the cavity with it I also stuffed in sprigs of fresh parsley. I basted every 15 minutes and turned the duck upside down half way through cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Sadly, this didn't do much for us. We were very disappointed. Could have been that we just had an ugly duckling, but I followed the recipe to a T, our it turned out very average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
A decent, basic duck recipe that doesn't overpower the flavor of the duck with too many spices. The butter, however, is *extreme* overkill. Duck is already a very fatty meat. The last thing it needs is to have a half cup of butter dumped over it. Stuff the cavity with some onion, lemon wedges, and garlic cloves, skip the butter entirely, and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
409 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
So easy. So awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orangette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
What a wonderful and simple recipe! I made this for Easter dinner last year and everyone loved it. Even the picky kids there thought it was awsome. I do add garlic and onion powder to my seasoning but it's still perfect just the way it is. Great for anyone looking for a great duck recipe without all the pomp and circumstance (who needs orange sauce when it tastes this good). Two Thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I made this for my daughter's communion and it went quick! Not only was it gobbled up by adults, but the kids were eating it too! I put the 1/2 cup of melted butter on the duck before putting in the oven and added a little white wine to the pan. I'll make this again and not just for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Excellent! right this minute my husband and I are picking away at this duck. The skin is crisp, flavorful and to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
i added lemon and lime juice to the recipe and it turned out grear. i served this on my fiance's birthday and he enjoyed it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
My fiance RARELY tells me that I'm a good cook or gives me "A" ratings on dinner, but he couldn't get enough of this! Taking cues from those before me, I added a little bit of garlic ot the rub and melted slightly more than 1/4 of butter the 2nd time around so I put some in the cavity. Also, before I basted the duck in butter I took it out of the pan and drained the pan each time. Also, I used margarine instead of butter- both that and draining the pan I felt made the duck a little bit healthier. Wonderful recipe! I can't wait to make it for Christmas 2008 for my fiance's family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States