Roasted Curried Chicken with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I really liked this, it reminds me very much of the chicken at the ethiopian restaurant that I love. I liked the couscous but my kids didn't very much, maybe it's the texture. So next time I'll substitute it for basmati rice instead (like the restaurant). The spices are just right, flavour-wise. As for the amount of spices this recipe makes, SunnyByrd is right, this will stretch easily to accomodate more chicken. Oh ya, I used whole chicken legs instead of the whole chicken and baked them for an hour at the recommended temperature. I also didn't have lemon so used lime instead. Very good, I'll most definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
My wife made this for me using smoked paprika and chicken breasts and it was delicious. The color, aroma, and taste were perfect. The smokiness of the paprika we used complimented the heat of the curry. We would have never finished a whole chicken, but we'll definitely give this another go when we have company and can finish a whole bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Absolutely delicious! For this recipe I used a package of bone0in chicken thighs and dredged them in the spice mixture for about 15 minutes before baking. Also, I used brown rice instead of couscous and next time I make the rice I am going to omit the lemon juice. The lemon flavor overpowered the side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewen, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I just made the couscous part of this recipe and it was VERY good....I had made "plain" couscous before, it was awful! This was flavorful and satisfying. I eyeballed the spices, using probably less than called for as we are not fond of curry, but it was pretty darn good!!! I will make this again! Thanks for a great recipe greennie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
The balance in this spice mix was just perfect. I didn't change a thing and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harvestdance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Another great roasted chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
DELICIOUS! The only changes I made were to use bone-in chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken (because that's what I had), and I was out of onion powder so I used dried onions. I also reduced the cooking time somewhat because of the breasts. I cooked them for an hour, but they probably would have been done in about 45 minutes. The seasonings in the couscous weren't too strong, so they complimented the chicken, and didn't seem too much of the same. I will DEFINITELY make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! My boyfriend AND my daughter got seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Awesome recipe! I used thighs and legs and omitted the sage and it was great - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
An excellent flavor change from plain old roast chicken. My teenagers went back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lighthouse Point, Florida, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Try this easy and delicious way to make a juicy roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States