Roasted Curried Chicken with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Great flavor! I roasted my 5lb chicken on 350 as I usually do, because I was afraid 400 would be too high and mine was perfectly done in 90 minutes. Also, I think there was more than enough rub/paste for the 5 pounder, so if you're doing a 2 1/2 pound chicken as the recipe indicates, you may want ot reduce your rub by half. Thanks for the recipe - a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was a very nice curry with some subtle additions. I used it mostly for the spice combination, and it came out great on boneless skinless chicken breasts. Make sure that you use smoked paprika - the plain mccormick stuff will not add anything to the recipe. Also, I was out of couscous so I made grits. The only thing that I changed flavor wise was not no duplicate the spices exactly in the grits - I wanted a little variation. I am sure you could add fruits like raisins or cranberries, and veggies as well. I will use this spice combination again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I really liked this, it reminds me very much of the chicken at the ethiopian restaurant that I love. I liked the couscous but my kids didn't very much, maybe it's the texture. So next time I'll substitute it for basmati rice instead (like the restaurant). The spices are just right, flavour-wise. As for the amount of spices this recipe makes, SunnyByrd is right, this will stretch easily to accomodate more chicken. Oh ya, I used whole chicken legs instead of the whole chicken and baked them for an hour at the recommended temperature. I also didn't have lemon so used lime instead. Very good, I'll most definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
My husband, and even my kids, love this recipe! It is tried and true and is a regular dinner in our home. I have actually even used boneless, skinless chicken breasts in place of the whole chicken, since I like them more. I just throw 3-4 in a shallow baking dish and poured the whole amount of paste over top the chicken and baked uncovered for 30 or so minutes and served along side the couscous, and it's fab, as well! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was a tasty recipe. I like to make one dish meals at dinner. to save time. Instead of using a whole bird, I used a cut up chicken, about 3 pounds. I rubbed the pieces with some of the spice mixture as instructed, and laid them in a large baking dish. Then, I added a zucchini, summer squash, a green pepper, and a red onion, all cut into large-ish pieces. I also included a box of whole button mushrooms. These I scattered over and around the chicken. Then I dotted the veggies with the remaining spice mix, and drizzled them with a little extra olive oil and 1/2 cup chicken broth to prevent scorching. I baked the pan in the oven at 400F for about an hour, turning and basting the veggies a couple of times. As the vegetables gave off some water and the chicken gave off its own fat, the whole thing cooked evenly and everything was coated with the chili-curry spices. It turned out really delish, especially served over the couscous! Worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
DELICIOUS! The only changes I made were to use bone-in chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken (because that's what I had), and I was out of onion powder so I used dried onions. I also reduced the cooking time somewhat because of the breasts. I cooked them for an hour, but they probably would have been done in about 45 minutes. The seasonings in the couscous weren't too strong, so they complimented the chicken, and didn't seem too much of the same. I will DEFINITELY make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
The flavors were great, but I must have used too small of a chicken, because I had gobs and gobs of rub left even after coating everything well. I let it marinate for the afternoon before cooking, and it smelled specatcular while in the oven. I made a chicken salad with the left overs the next day, and it was absolutely fantastic. I may cook chicken like this specifically for the purpose of making chicken salad the next day. My husband raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I thought everything in the chicken was great, but it seemed to only be on the skin and the flavor needed to marinade longer to get into the bird.. I didn't have couscous, so I made some rice pilaf instead.. Still a very good meal!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
The balance in this spice mix was just perfect. I didn't change a thing and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harvestdance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Awesome recipe! I used thighs and legs and omitted the sage and it was great - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Try this easy and delicious way to make a juicy roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States