Roasted Curried Chicken with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I made this for my family and even my "picky" children loved it. The entire chicken was devoured with very little left. The second time I made it I used a larger chicken an took the remaining meat off the bone and cooked the bones in water to make soup. Added veggies and voila! Soup! Two meals..Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was really, really, REALLY, good! I made sure that I put the spices paste under the skin of all parts as well as on top. If you want to stretch it to another meal,cut off all the parts to serve for the first meal leaving only the carcass. Simmer the carcass in drippings and 2 bouillon cubes in five cups of water. When you have a nice broth, remove carcass, pick off meat, set meat aside. Add to broth 2 cups of basmati rice and 2 cups frozen mixed vegetables. Boil the rice and veg (covered)until nearly all the liquid is absorbed. Add the carcass meat (along with any leftover chicken meat from the first meal) to the pot and simmer until ALL the liquid is absorbed. I added a bit more curry powder and garlic along with some salt. It made a nice entree with a garden salad on the side. Made enough for six good helpings! It wasn't as yummy as the first entree but was very tasty and thrifty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
WOW... this was awesome! I used chicken leg quarters but followed the recipe otherwise. I rubbed the spices under the skin and on top, and broiled a few min. at the end to make the skin crispy. For those who dont want couscous I substituted regular white rice and that came out awesome too!! I def. recommend this and cannot wait to make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *m*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
The chicken is amazing. I didn't make the couscous because was making a gluten free meal. I actually made the curried quinoa from this site and they were excellent together. I will use this recipe again. Don't scrimp on the spices. I let the paste set for about 30 minutes while I washed chicken and other prep work. I did make sure to put quite a bit of the paste inside the cavity and I think that helped with the amazing flavor. I was worried it would be too spicy with 1 tbsp of chili powder, but the heat was just right. And as stated in other reviews, my house smelled like an Indian market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLOWERDANNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was excellent - didn't make the couscous part of the recipe, but served it with rice and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I was conflicted about how to review this recipe. I thought the curry rub/paste was fabulous and loved the finished product. The couscous part of the recipe did need some help as some other reviewers have noted. I made the same amount of orzo and mixed in with the couscous and also chopped up very finely a medium onion and several ribs of celery to add to the couscous/orzo mixture. I sauted the celery and onion briefly in olive oil on the stove top before adding to the mixture. I believe the two different pastas made for an interesting texture and the celery/onion gave it a nice crunch. I think the next time I will either make a whole small turkey or a bone-in turkey breast rather than chicken, I wanted there to be more! I Loved the smokey, spicy taste of the rub and the aroma in the house was amazing too. 03/22/2011 - Additional note: -I made this again and added a package of chopped spinach to the pasta combination. I very much like the combination of couscous and orzo. I also decided to use the not-quite-picked-clean carcass and carrots, onions, celery and made a stock. I then made a chicken soup and because of the wonderful spice paste it was a rich, spicy and satisfying soup. The best thing about this recipe is that spice paste, it is fabulous! I've discovered the joy of cooking with smoked paprika! Too bad it is so expensive, but so worth it. I still think using a small turkey with this recipe would make for a lovely dinner for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Not bad. I only made the chicken and following the recipe exactly. The chicken itself came out nice and moist, the house still smells amazing, but the flavor was just okay. I think it was the chili powder. If I try it again, I'll use less of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was GOOD! I had plenty of spice mixture to coat a 5 lb chicken. Next time I'll give it a few hours to marinate and then it will get 6 stars! I used regular paprika, but will try the smoked variety next time. My kitchen still smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Chicken was DELICIOUS! The Couscous had only spicy flavor. It needed a little bit more seasoning, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was good, the chicken was very flavorful. Next time I will double the amount of spices for the couscous however, we found it a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Try this easy and delicious way to make a juicy roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States