Roasted Corn and Basmati Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This is an excellent side! The only thing I disagree with is the chilling part. It is so good at room temp! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I stuck pretty exactly to the recipe and took for a picnic with cold meat and it was raved about (spring breakers!) - very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I made it was for a tex-mex potluck, so I changed it a bit: substituted brown rice for white rice, used frozen corn in place of fresh, used lime juice instead of lemon, used canned mexican-style diced tomatoes in place of fresh, used only about half the dressing, subbed cilantro for the basil, and roasted the purple onions with the corn. I think we may have added some homemade salsa and crushed red pepper also. But it was absolutely amazing!!! Just about a different recipe. The second time I made it, I followed the recipe. It was ok, still too much oil and too much dressing overall, and used brown rice and frozen corn again. Pretty good, but not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This is a great and refreshing side, and very easy to prepare! The corn adds fantastic flavor when paired with the rice, tomato and onion. Having followed the recipe to the letter, I think next time I'll use a little less oil in the dressing itself, but overall a really interesting and tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This makes a HUGE salad. Way more than 8 servings. I served twenty people and still had tons left-over. I cheated and used the one pound bag of roasted corn from Trader Joe's. Super easy that way and it has great flavor. Probably better than I could do myself. I didn't use the red onion because I was already serving another salad that had it in there. And I did swap out fresh tomato for sundried julienne strips, because when they are out of season, I don't think they are worth the price. I would recommend olive oil over corn oil. I had to double the basil in order to get the flavor to come through. Could probably use a little more spices. Kind of bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is a great basic recipe that makes TONS...just modify to your taste. I even added sour cream to make it a creamy base once, and added red peppers and other veggies on hand to suit our taste. If you follow this recipe, you better want alot of salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was very good, but it made a ton of food (you'll really need a LARGE bowl for this), and it lasted me for almost a week. The Woman I Love tried some of the leftovers, and she liked it a lot too. This recipe represented two "firsts" for me: I'd never cooked with basmati rice before; and I'd never cut corn off the cob before (which was tedious and messy the first time, but I'll do better next time!). I followed the recipe to the letter. One funny thing, though. The corn never got "lightly browned". I kept adding 5 minutes at a time to the original 15 minutes. I finally gave up at 35 minutes - the corn was cooked, no doubt, but still not browned that I could see. I wonder why that was? All in all, this was a great recipe. It takes a bit of time to make (I don't enjoy peeling, seeding and dicing tomatoes), but the final result is very tasty and will go a long way (I found that the "8 servings" amounts to 8 pretty full plates of the stuff).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Made this tonight to go with our steak tips and it was delicious. Very refreshing. I used Jasmine rice, since that was what I had on hand. I happened to have some roasted almond slivers which I tossed in just before serving...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKISETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Was very good next to grilled chicken breast with cucumber and pepper relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States