Roasted Corn and Basmati Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
LOVE this side! I made this to go with burgers and brats on the grill. Everyone loved it. Very light and east to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
AMAZING... and thats just trying it warm. I couldn't wait to see what everyone was raving about and boy were they right! I DID make one change. I was out of red wine vinegar so I substituted 1/2 white wine vinegar and 1/2 champagne vinegar and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arsineh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I was excited to try this after all of the great reviews I read, but it just didn't work for us. I followed the recipe as written, but it was way too tart, and it made quite a bit more than 8 servings. My husband couldn't finish his and I'm not looking forward to eating the leftovers, but I hate to throw away all that food after all of the time and effort put into it. Sadly, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I found this rice too sweet, however my husband loved it. Next time I would use less red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Made this tonight to go with our steak tips and it was delicious. Very refreshing. I used Jasmine rice, since that was what I had on hand. I happened to have some roasted almond slivers which I tossed in just before serving...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKISETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was very good, but it made a ton of food (you'll really need a LARGE bowl for this), and it lasted me for almost a week. The Woman I Love tried some of the leftovers, and she liked it a lot too. This recipe represented two "firsts" for me: I'd never cooked with basmati rice before; and I'd never cut corn off the cob before (which was tedious and messy the first time, but I'll do better next time!). I followed the recipe to the letter. One funny thing, though. The corn never got "lightly browned". I kept adding 5 minutes at a time to the original 15 minutes. I finally gave up at 35 minutes - the corn was cooked, no doubt, but still not browned that I could see. I wonder why that was? All in all, this was a great recipe. It takes a bit of time to make (I don't enjoy peeling, seeding and dicing tomatoes), but the final result is very tasty and will go a long way (I found that the "8 servings" amounts to 8 pretty full plates of the stuff).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Easy and good, even for a bachelor like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Was very good next to grilled chicken breast with cucumber and pepper relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This is a great and refreshing side, and very easy to prepare! The corn adds fantastic flavor when paired with the rice, tomato and onion. Having followed the recipe to the letter, I think next time I'll use a little less oil in the dressing itself, but overall a really interesting and tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This is an excellent side! The only thing I disagree with is the chilling part. It is so good at room temp! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States