Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Excellent,as is! But, anyone who cooks should understand that a recipe is only a "blue print" from which we can easily modify to meet our personal dietary needs and taste. I may try different spices some time, just for fun... but the recipe is still a "5 Star"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Tried these for the first time today. I have been thinking about making them for ages and super glad I did. My hubby and teenage son just devoured them right out of the oven. What a simple, delicious and healthier option for snacking. My oven cooks pretty hot so I turned the heat down to 400 degrees and did a total cooking time of about 50 minutes. Now that we know how much we love these, we are going to experiment with different spices. Thinking the next batch with have a bit of garlic salt and rosemary. We WILL be making these again. And soon too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
gave 4 cos not a huge fan, but need to still keep working at recipe to find right flavors. drained chickpeas in colander then put them on a doubled paper towel to dry. did oven at 400 degrees for 30 min, sprayed with Pam olive oil, added garlic powder, then cooked for 20 minutes more. Next time I would try 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes, add (just barely cover) honey and cinnamon, then cook for 25 minutes more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
These are great, and with enough cayenne pepper, they taste a little like hot fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
After several attempts at this recipe, I think I found the perfect combination. 450 was way too hot and after 15 min in the oven, the chickpeas were burnt (plus I don't think you are supposed to use olive oil at such a high temp). They turned out the best when I put them in the oven at 350 for 30 min (no oil/cooking spray), then took them out, did a light spray and added the seasonings and stirred them around and continued baking and stirring, about every 5 min for another 15 - 20 min. I will keep experimenting with different seasonings just to keep it interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
First off, I think that the temperature is too high. After about 15 minutes of roasting they started popping and about 6 jumped off the pan into the bottom of the oven. After I got them picked up, I reduced the temp to 425. That seemed to work much better. They turned out wonderful. I will have to make a double or triple batch next time too keep up with the demand. I will also try different seasonings and spices next time too. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
My new favorite liw calorie snack yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
These chickpeas are a great side dish for dinner. Couldn't be happier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Another one of those recipes that I should have tried sooner. I roasted the chickpeas dry at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. Then I sprinkled them with garlic powder and cayenne pepper and mixed in a teaspoon of bacon grease. I turned the oven off and put them back in for another 30 minutes. These are absolutely delicious and crunchy. Thank you for sharing your recipe akcpa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I dry roasted mine, as suggested by another reviewer, then added seasoning. They came out crunchy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Lee Copley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Chef John's Crunchy Spiced Chickpeas

Roasted chickpeas with cumin, paprika and cayenne pepper.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States