Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
These took a lot of tending but came out good. I did the suggested dry roast first. I started at 400 and they seemed to be doing fine but were soft inside after a long time and some started to burn. So I lowered the heat to 250, removed them from oven, sprayed with the Misto and sprinkled with seasoning. Finally got them dry throughout and today they are still nice and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phaidra Alisha Ruck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These are awesome. I used 1 1/2 tbsp of olive oil and baked them at 400 degrees for 40 minutes. Then I added cajun seasoning and garlic salt. Yummy!! Great alternative to chips or popcorn and much healthier! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Mine burned. Will try again sometime at a lower temperature, but I used all I had. They were already burning after 30 min, but were still soft inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Tastes good but doesn't store well. Eat immediately
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I thought this was an incredibly easy snack to make that is so good for you! I added jerk seasoning (powdered rub) and it gave them a kick- I did find the odd soggy chick pea but for the most part mine were crunchy- even my picky 5 and 7 yearolds asked me to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I used chili powder, cumin and coarse sea salt. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamama3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This recipe has the following faults: * Olive oil has a smoke point of 180degC; the temperature is far too high. * Temperature for a fan bake oven needs to be reduced. * Recommendations for periodically stirring the chickpeas during roasting need to be made. This recipe did not turn out well, for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
As suggested by someone else, I baked these first. A few burnt, but that only added to the overall texture and flavor. I also think that 2 tablespoons of olive oil is little too much. For spices I used parmasan cheese, sea salt, onion powder, and cajun seasoning. ****Update**** I made these again and this time they all burnt to a crisp. So I made another batch and lowered the heat to 425. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lehnig-Bouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I made a batch before reading the reviews. It was pretty good. The second batch was even better, because I dry roasted them at 400 degrees for 30 minutes before tossing in olive oil and spices. I used sea salt, garlic powder, curry powder, cayenne pepper, ginger, and Arizona Dreaming (Penzey's). I put them back in for 20 more minutes. Healthy corn nuts, who knew? Hope there's some left for hubby to try tomorrow....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wife in Training

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States