Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I have actually never made this recipe as written, but I whole-heartedly agree with the suggestion to dry-roast the chickpeas and THEN toss with olive oil and seasoning. I usually cook them for about 30 minutes at 400 F, tossing once halfway through, but sometimes I'll leave them in the oven for longer, usually in 5 minute increments. That said, these are THE MOST ADDICTIVE SNACK. I use a spice blend of salt, garlic powder, cumin, paprika, and cayenne--about 2 tsp. total is a generous amount of seasoning for one can of chickpeas (which, by the way, usually some in 15 oz. cans). Absolutely worth trying, even if you aren't a fan of chickpeas in their slimier state.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Taste good, but a lot of mine burnt after cooking for only 25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
450* Way too hot in my oven, after 30 min they were black. Must be an oven temp thing. Tried again at 400* and checked at 30 min and the dry roast process was okay. Never thought my oven was better than mediocre but heat and time wise apparantly it is. Not a problem with recipe, must be my appliance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Wow. Easy and delicious! Thank you so much for a recipe even I can't muck up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Not a big fan of this one....sorry. Chickpeas were still mushy after two attempts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I cooked my Chickpeas early in the morning, using star anise and other Chinese herbs (bits of wood). As soon as the batch was cool and had dried off I got them in the oven , olive oil, sea salt and herbs de Provence. Utterly sensational, I had some as an aperative before lunch and found it difficult to stop eating them. the Chinese herbs gave them a delicate twang. Next time it will be with chilli flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naguere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Was not impressed with the taste. I think, I 'll stick with soy nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
These took a lot of tending but came out good. I did the suggested dry roast first. I started at 400 and they seemed to be doing fine but were soft inside after a long time and some started to burn. So I lowered the heat to 250, removed them from oven, sprayed with the Misto and sprinkled with seasoning. Finally got them dry throughout and today they are still nice and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phaidra Alisha Ruck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These are awesome. I used 1 1/2 tbsp of olive oil and baked them at 400 degrees for 40 minutes. Then I added cajun seasoning and garlic salt. Yummy!! Great alternative to chips or popcorn and much healthier! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States