Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
not quite 5 star but..... very very adictive :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
My husband *loves* these even though I haven't been able to get the recipe quite right. Olive oil and salt are not options for us. The first time I tried these I used cooking spray as another reviewer had suggested. Most of the Ceci still did not dry all the way through, but the ones that did were great. On my 2nd attempt I dry roasted them as yet another reviewer suggested and even though I turned them several times during cooking, by the time most were dry some had burned. On my 3rd attempt, I am going to try lowering the oven temp to 350F, dry roasting them, and adding the cooking spray and spices afterwards. Although I am not following the recipe as written (dietary concerns) I gave this recipe 5*'s because my husband loves them (even the burned ones!) and the concept is great for a low calorie/high protein/guilt-free snack, even if I haven't quite perfected it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avidproxy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
My kids and I love making roasted chickpeas, they are so tasty. They first time I made them, they were good, but a little moist. The second time I made them, I reduced the oil, and seasoned them after they came out. They were awesome! I now make this recipe at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
amazeballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vdhme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I really wanted to like this recipe. Maybe I chose a bad brand of canned chickpeas. I did not like it at all. No very flavorful, despite the seasonings ... I tried a savory and a sweet recipe. Definitely need to cook for a long time to get the crunchiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEllen Henry
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe! I took the suggestion of Kelly and roasted mine without any oil. When they were done, I drizzled them with olive oil and lightly salted them. The only problem I had with them was once I started eating them, I could not stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I followed other suggestions and dry roasted them first for 30 min at 400 in my convection oven then tossed with Olive Oil, salt & garlic powder and put back in oven for only 15 min and most of them burned! Crispy yes, tasty not really. Next time I will try lowering temp to 350...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBIRD32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
these are really great. so versatile!! we also make them sprinkling a little dry ranch seasoning, and make it sweet sometimes replacing garlic for cinnamon. remind me a little of corn nuts... hey! maybe next time bbq flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Love this recipe! I was craving potato chips, and after I found a can of chickpeas in the cupboard, I decided to give this a try. Based on all the other reviews, I used one can of chickpeas, three different ways just to see what happened. I think I agree with the reviewers who said to dry roast for a little while, before tossing with olive oil/etc. This is definitely a great basic recipe that I can experiment with different flavors/seasonings. I tried adobo seasoning (which was a little too salty for me), as well as attempting a Panko coating (didn't work so well) and lastly, I added a little Worcester, garlic salt, and dashed of cayenne, cumin, and paprika, to the olive oil (which I loved). Extremely versatile recipe that is flexible around personal preference/tastes, and variances in ovens/cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I followed others' advice and baked them at 350 for 20 min, then turned it up to 450. Before 15 min was even close they started popping out of the pan, onto the heating elements, and setting off the smoke alarm! My oven is accurate, I soaked the peas overnight and blotted them dry. I don't know what happened--I think I'll try again at 350 for a longer time. There are so many variations that I'm anxious for them to turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States