Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I dry roasted mine, as suggested by another reviewer, then added seasoning. They came out crunchy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Lee Copley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
The chickpeas had too much oil added to them, they were only in the oven for 20 minutes at 450 degrees and they had shrunk a lot. They were burned and pretty flavorless. Would I make these again? I would try. Honestly, tweak this in the temperature and maybe they would be better. I might try the recipe again, but I'm not sure it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made the recipe using garlic salt, cumin, cayenne and black pepper and found that another 10 minutes in the oven was needed to make them crunchy. Even with the liberal use of spices, I found it difficult to get much flavor on the peas. They reminded me of half popped popcorn, but had less flavor. If I make these again, I might try bacon drippings a pinch of sugar and dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this and it was awesome! Thank you for the recipe! Only change he made was using regular bacon, sautéing the onions and celery in the bacon fat and added a can of sweet corn. Best chili I've had yet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I only had a small can, I added some EVOO, homemade taco seasoning and baked at 425 for 40 minutes, and they were chewy, so I lowered to 300 for 1 hour, then turned oven off, let them sit for 2 hours while I went shopping. They needed some garlic salt...yummy! Hubby does NOT like chickpeas, I made him taste ONE...he liked it but he doesn't trust me (we've been eating healthier for several yrs!) I haven't and won't tell him they're chickpeas! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyl46

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Four words: simple, delicious, healthy and easy. This snack is a hit every time it's brought out to the table! I made these the day before Thanksgiving to snack on while I started cooking through out the next day and found myself not being able to stop. Even though the garlic salt is listed as 'optional', I highly recommend adding it - even in place of just regular salt. I added the cayenne as well since I can't get enough of spice. Trust me, you are going to want to make bags and bags of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I did not need to bake these nearly as long as suggested, more like half the time given. These would be great for snacking and salads. Next time I want to try 2 or 3 cans of chickpeas at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Made these 10-15-2014. I followed advice from some of the other reviewers and first dry-roasted the chickpeas for 60 min at 300 degrees. Then I tossed them with a teaspoon or less of olive oil and garlic salt and roasted an additional 15 min, shaking every 5 or so. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
It was like eating a small ball of sand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I took them out after 30min because it looked like they were done...but could've used the extra 10-15. The inside was a bit soft. I also did the dry roasted method. I used a tablespoon of coconut oil, cayenne, sea salt, and a little sugar. Taste is good. I used the canned chicks for my first try. Will definitely use this recipe again. The possibilities are endless when it comes to flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Chef John's Crunchy Spiced Chickpeas

Roasted chickpeas with cumin, paprika and cayenne pepper.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States