Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Had this at a restaurant as an appetizer with cocktails. Who knew? This is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
SO YUMMY!!! I followed others directions of dry roasting first for 30 minutes, then seasoning and then roasting for 10, turn off oven and let sit for another 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Really love these. One thing I make sure to do is to cover the top of the pan with foil poked with holes. This prevented them from jumping all over my oven then burning like the first time I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinnieMay9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I just sprayed with Pam and seasoned before cooking and after cooking, tossed with about 1 tbsp. Olive oil and a little more seasoning...couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Very good recipe. I did take some time to pull off the "skins" of the garbanzo beans after rinsing and toweling dry. I agree with most that 2 TBSP olive oil is excessive. I used maybe 2 tsp at most. Added 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, and 1/4 tsp cayenne -- I love the spiciness this lends. I lowered the temperature to 400, and added an extra 20 minutes of cook time so they could dry slowly. I found it was crucial to mix the chickpeas around on the sheet every ten minutes so they cooked evenly. Mine came out very crunchy, spicy and tasty. Great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
These did not cook evenly, some burned, some were still soft and others were just right; I cooked them @ the recomended temperature for the suggested time. The only thing I did differently was that I dry-roasted them. If anyone has any ideas on how to cook them evenly, please let me know cause I did enjoy the ones that turned out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.pleasure

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
These were absolutely fabulous! My family went through them quickly. These are so easy to do in the toaster oven. Made a few changes: Did 2 cans, used salt, season salt, chili powder, garlic powder. Dry roasted (no oil) for 30 min. then give tray a little shake to rotate chickpeas. Put back in for 20 min. Turn oven off. Spray with oil then season. Put back in oven for 15 min. Definitely taste your chickpeas after seasoning. You might need more than you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I used several previous suggestions. I dry roasted the chickpeas at 400 for 35-40 minutes, until nicely browned. Then I removed them from the oven, turned it off, and lightly sprayed them with cooking spray and sprinkled them with garlic salt. Then I put them back to sit in the oven overnight. They were crispy and would have been tastier if I had sprinkled on more spices. Will definitely give these another try. They might be a bit crunchy for young children; maybe you could cook the chickpeas and not put them back in the oven, resulting in a slight softer texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I used garlic pepper as the seasoning and yummy! Just as delicious as I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MINDERELLY
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
made these today with some changes didnt have every thing the recipe called for and im not a big measurer so this is what i did. took 15 oz frozen green chickpeas coated with olive oil and a tiny bit of sesamie oil then sprinkled with season salt, onion powder, garlic powder, and a little curry, paprika and cayenne pepper. then rosted at 400 for about 40 min on a foil coated baking sheet . these are sooo good im guna have to make another bach my 5 year old loves them. yaaa helthy snack :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States