Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I'm a recovering junk food lover and this hits the spot. It's got the crunch and saltiness I adore plus the kick of cayenne which makes them addictive. A+ for the ease and satisfaction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coletteshaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Had to roast for quite awhile to get a crunch out of these but I do agree they reminded me of corn nuts as far as consistency once they were done through. I wasn't thoroughly impressed with them first time around but I might re-evaluate after another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silk

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I followed the advice of another reviewer and just sprayed them with butter flavored cooking spray. I thought they were good healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I love roasted chick peas and I've tried to perfect the recipe over the last few years. For perfectly crunchy toasted peas, I HIGHLY recommend starting with raw, dried chick peas (a little 1 pound bag nicely fills up a standard size cookie sheet). You can soak them overnight or do a quick soak in 1.5 hours in hot water. The result is SO much nicer - never a single mushy pea. With canned cps I always felt like I had to choose between burnt or mushy. When I start with raw cps, I they're perfect every time. I also do a 15 minute "pre-roast" with no oil or spices (I use a 400 degree oven), THEN I add my olive oil and spices, and then roast until they're perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Changed it up a little: 1 Tbl of olive oil, sprinkled with Tony Cacherie's Cajun seasoning. Cooked in toaster oven at 400 degrees for 40 minutes. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
These are pretty good. I probably roasted them (without any oil) for about 50-55 minutes at 400 degrees in an 8X8 glass pan, shaking them every 15 minutes toward the beginning, and every 5 minutes toward the end. I never used any oil to roast them. I agree with another commenter--using olive oil at such a high temperature isn't good. Olive oil has a low smoke point. When it smokes, it will create free radicals, which, many argue, are harmful to our health. If you want to roast these with oil at any point, I'd suggest safflower oil, which has a smoke point of 400-450. If you want more on this, you can look at the World's Healthiest Foods website. After they were finished, I let them cool for about 5 minutes. I added some olive oil, then some salt, cumin, garam masala, cayenne pepper, and curry. You have to add the oil first--otherwise, the spices won't stick to them as easily. They are likely to be consumed rather quickly, which is why, I suppose, other recipes refer to these chickpeas as "popcorn"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I have actually never made this recipe as written, but I whole-heartedly agree with the suggestion to dry-roast the chickpeas and THEN toss with olive oil and seasoning. I usually cook them for about 30 minutes at 400 F, tossing once halfway through, but sometimes I'll leave them in the oven for longer, usually in 5 minute increments. That said, these are THE MOST ADDICTIVE SNACK. I use a spice blend of salt, garlic powder, cumin, paprika, and cayenne--about 2 tsp. total is a generous amount of seasoning for one can of chickpeas (which, by the way, usually some in 15 oz. cans). Absolutely worth trying, even if you aren't a fan of chickpeas in their slimier state.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Taste good, but a lot of mine burnt after cooking for only 25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
450* Way too hot in my oven, after 30 min they were black. Must be an oven temp thing. Tried again at 400* and checked at 30 min and the dry roast process was okay. Never thought my oven was better than mediocre but heat and time wise apparantly it is. Not a problem with recipe, must be my appliance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Wow. Easy and delicious! Thank you so much for a recipe even I can't muck up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States