Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I really wanted to like this recipe. Maybe I chose a bad brand of canned chickpeas. I did not like it at all. No very flavorful, despite the seasonings ... I tried a savory and a sweet recipe. Definitely need to cook for a long time to get the crunchiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe! I took the suggestion of Kelly and roasted mine without any oil. When they were done, I drizzled them with olive oil and lightly salted them. The only problem I had with them was once I started eating them, I could not stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I followed other suggestions and dry roasted them first for 30 min at 400 in my convection oven then tossed with Olive Oil, salt & garlic powder and put back in oven for only 15 min and most of them burned! Crispy yes, tasty not really. Next time I will try lowering temp to 350...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBIRD32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
these are really great. so versatile!! we also make them sprinkling a little dry ranch seasoning, and make it sweet sometimes replacing garlic for cinnamon. remind me a little of corn nuts... hey! maybe next time bbq flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Love this recipe! I was craving potato chips, and after I found a can of chickpeas in the cupboard, I decided to give this a try. Based on all the other reviews, I used one can of chickpeas, three different ways just to see what happened. I think I agree with the reviewers who said to dry roast for a little while, before tossing with olive oil/etc. This is definitely a great basic recipe that I can experiment with different flavors/seasonings. I tried adobo seasoning (which was a little too salty for me), as well as attempting a Panko coating (didn't work so well) and lastly, I added a little Worcester, garlic salt, and dashed of cayenne, cumin, and paprika, to the olive oil (which I loved). Extremely versatile recipe that is flexible around personal preference/tastes, and variances in ovens/cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I followed others' advice and baked them at 350 for 20 min, then turned it up to 450. Before 15 min was even close they started popping out of the pan, onto the heating elements, and setting off the smoke alarm! My oven is accurate, I soaked the peas overnight and blotted them dry. I don't know what happened--I think I'll try again at 350 for a longer time. There are so many variations that I'm anxious for them to turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Very tasty and healthy! They were a little soft, so I will try other reviewers suggestions and cut back on the oil after dry roasting initially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
just took 'em out of the oven and they're already gone! my little brother and his friends inhaled them all. tip: add more spices than you think you need
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe because I didn't want to gorge myself on chips any longer. They weren't quite what I was after, so I tried a slightly different variation where you don't add the oil and everything until later on. MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I followed everyone's advice about dry roasting and then adding the oil and spices after they were cooked, and these turned out fabulous after 50 minutes at 400, shaking the baking pan every 15 minutes. This is the first time that I've ever deviated from the original posted recipe, and I'm glad that I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States