Roasted Chicken with Risotto and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Delicious!! Yes, Risotto takes a while to cook, but it is worth the effort. I added some sautéed mushrooms before adding the rice. I also halved the balsamic since my Wife isn't a big fan. She really liked it though. The balsamic adds a nice sweetness along with the caramelized onions. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I made this last night for the family and it was super tasty! I used my own chicken breasts that I seasoned, pan seared in olive oil and then finished in oven while I got the onions going. I took others advice about cutting back on the balsamic and only used about 1 1/2 TBSP. My risotto only needed about 5 cups of broth. I will definitely be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I've been using this recipe for a while and keep forgetting to review it! We LOVE this recipe, when I have time to make it. I'd always been a little scared of making risotto, but this recipe was well written. The balsamic onions add a nice sweetness and tang to the overall creamy dish, which is much needed. Without them, I could see this being way too heavy. Good balance, good texture. This is one of the few recipes I follow exactly every time! I have substituted basil for thyme depending on what I have on hand and it works very well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
excellent! i added mushrooms too.. It takes way LONGER than 45 minutes,, more like 80 minutes to prepare. If you have the time it's worth it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I guess it was my fault that the dish tasted like Balsamic Vinegar overload. When I added the vinegar to the onions I didn't cook it down, I just stirred it in. The flavor of vinegar was overwhelmingt. Added more onion and that didn't help. This recipe also makes a huge amount. I will make it again without so much Balsamic Vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Delicious. Here's how to roast the chicken (I used three smaller boneless/skinless breasts): Just pour a small amount of olive oil (other oil probably would work) in a casserole dish. Take the breasts and put them in the casserole dish and then turn them over so they have a thin coating of oil on both sides. Then just put a little salt and pepper and put in the oven for 25 minutes at 350 degrees if small breasts or 30 minutes at 350 if larger. Alow breasts to rest about ten minutes and then cut into small strips or cubes. And that's it. You can actually cook the onions and the risotto at the same time. So I had the onions carmelizing on one burner, the risotto simmering on a second one and then the chicken stock/broth simmering on the third so it was hot to stir in. Once done, I did mix in a little parmesan cheese in addition to the butter is calls for. Served with a ceasar salad. Really, really good. I'll definitely make it again. Leftovers were delicious too. Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe!!! The onions and balsamic really make this rich. I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Really easy recipe and tastes delicious! First time making risotto and turned out great. I also added field mushrooms that I fried off in garlic and topped it with grated parmesan as well, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Good but reduce vinager by 1/2 too strong otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Thought this was very good, although the kids thought a little less wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States